interviews

Interview – Yen Peterson

Our talented issue 1 poet of the day, Yen Peterson!

Capture

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

My name is Yen and I’m an 18-year-old college freshman in the Boston area. I love cats, yoga and strawberries.

When you create, what inspires you?

When I write, I try to boil down situations and relationships to their most basic, elements. My writing is not necessarily representative of my experience in terms of the details but rather, in terms of the emotion.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind your accepted piece.

I wrote Pictou on a hot night in Nova Scotia, where I’ve spent summers for as long as I can remember. Summer nights always lead to memory lane.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

I tend to write in snippets. Short phrases here, little pieces there, jotted down on credit card bills, Post-It notes, Microsoft Word— whatever’s handy. It’s a lovely mess.

How did you first discover your love for writing?

I’ve been creating stories for as long as I can remember but I didn’t really get into poetry until I took a creative writing class at summer camp when I was 12. I had thought all poetry was super stuffy or too complicated for me to understand but our teacher exposed us to a lot of great work that instantly made poetry accessible to me.

What advice would you give to an aspiring poet?

Don’t overthink it.

If you weren’t writing about love, what would be your topic of choice?

I don’t think I would be creating at all. I think society has skewed our view of the word and most people think of love as only loving another person or an activity or a place; love is the human condition.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel love?

Oxygen. Lots of it.

yenisalive.co.vu

yenpeterson01@gmail.com

Check back September 18th to get your own copy of fēlan issue 1, Love!

One thought on “Interview – Yen Peterson

  1. Pingback: issue 1 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

