interviews

Interview – Elle

Elle is a talented poet who I’ve had the pleasure of knowing over the years. Her work will be featured in the very first issue of fēlan!
elle

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

My name is Ellen and I write under the name Elle. Poetry has always been my primary creative outlet and one of biggest passions.  I feel things very deeply and am very analytical about me emotions, as well as others emotions. This had lead me to pursue a career in Family Counseling, which is quickly becoming something that brings me a lot of personal fulfillment. I believe that helping others is the best thing we can do for ourselves and that there is more good in this world than there is bad.

When you create, what inspires you?

When I write poetry my inspiration comes from my own experiences, or the experiences of those around me. I like to focus on a particular emotion I am having trouble attaching words to, or one a friend is having trouble conveying, and bring it to life in a poem.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

The poem “Mess” is a favorite of mine. It is written about a man I loved who was so closed off from others that he couldn’t let me in, despite being in love with me. It is meant to be self-empowering and convey the idea that sometimes things don’t work out, not because we aren’t enough, but because we have far too much to us for that particular person.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

When I first write a poem, the inspiration comes out of nowhere and I am rushing to my computer or a pen and paper to write it down as fast as I can. However, after the initial writing I enjoy going to my typewriter. I have a 1960’s Royal Aristocrat typewriter and I feel like typing my poems on it gives them a new life.

How did you first discover your love for writing?
I was 12 when I first wrote a poem in my English class. From that moment on I was fascinated with the idea of poetry and spent a lot of time trying to write poems that seemed like those I read in books. Once I stopped writing like other people and wrote from my gut, poetry became a therapeutic addiction for me.
What advice would you give to an aspiring poet?
I would encourage any aspiring poet to follow their instincts when writing. Don’t edit yourself as you’re writing. Let raw emotions and natural language guide you. I have found that my best poems have come from my most convoluted emotions. Those are the ones that people relate to the best.

 

If you weren’t writing about love, what would be your topic of choice?

I don’t know how to not write about love. Love, or the lack of love, is in everything we do, and all of our emotions stem from love. Romantic love and heartbreak is a common topic of mine, but I also enjoy writing about self-love, friendship, family bonds, and love for humanity.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel love?

I feel love when things are communicated simply by a look, a quick squeeze of the hand, or a single word. I think feeling loved, for me, comes down to the little things and the small daily interactions that make up our lives. Romantically speaking, nothing makes me feel more loved than knowingly showing somebody a flaw of mine, and having them believe it’s not a flaw, simply a part of what makes me who I am.

2 thoughts on “Interview – Elle

  1. Pingback: issue 1 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

