interviews

Interview – Colleen Chesebro

Now I present to you the lovely Colleen Chesebro.  Her work will be in fēlan’s first issue!

cc

Capture

Please tell us a bit about yourself. 

Colleen M. Chesebro is a writer of poetry, cross-genre fiction, and imaginative nonfiction. Her first fantasy series is currently under production and called, “The Swamp Fairy.” The novel tells the story of Abby Forrester, a 14 year old orphaned girl who finds herself the protector to a community of fairies that live in the swamp near her Aunt’s home in Pensacola, Florida. Through Abby’s journey we learn about friendship, love, and what it truly means to be part of a loving family.  Colleen has included in each chapter a haiku poem especially crafted for special meaning. Colleen lives in the United States with her husband, Ron and her two Pomeranians, Sugar and Spice. You can learn more about Colleen and her creative poetry and stories on her website: silverthreading.com.

When you create what inspires you?

I am a visual person so anything I can visualize or see is pure inspiration to me. The beauty of nature, and the many nuances in weather can prompt words and feelings from me in an instant. I also love music and listen to a blend of classical and new wave sounds that inspire me to new heights. Sometimes, I just close my eyes and the words come through the visions in my mind.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

I wrote the “Three Stages of Love,” for my husband on Valentine’s Day this year as a remembrance of how we met, fell in love, and to commemorate that we are still together after all these years. In fact, I had the three haiku framed and gave them to him a few months later for our 30th wedding anniversary. My haiku track the normal progression love takes in a healthy relationship.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

I love writing with my computer and keyboard. The words flow from my fingertips in an almost stream of consciousness type of writing. I feel that I am more creative because I can type fast. I write much slower and that seems to impede my choice of words.

How did you first discover your love for writing?

I started writing creatively back in high school. Then life happened and I chose a career that enabled me constant employment although it did not afford any creativity which I craved to soothe my soul. A couple of years ago, I made the decision to retire early. Once I did that I applied all that creativity I stored up through the years and took pen to paper or in my case, fingers to the keyboard. It has been an amazing journey!

What advice would you give to an aspiring poet?

 Practice your craft every day. No matter how small the amount, practice does lead you to future improvement. Get involved in a community of writers, photographers, or bloggers, and starting doing whatever it is that leads you to your creative destiny. Ask for help. Read. Read more. Read the poetry of others, including the classics. Take classes. Never stop learning!

If you weren’t writing about love, what would be your topic of choice?

I am not a sad person by any means, however I can write some of the most gut-wrenching poetry about the pain of relationships. Somehow, I am able to channel the grief and sorrow felt by many into words that people can identify with. You know when you have just endured a terrible breakup with the love of your life, sometimes reading poetry that recognizes this pain helps you on the road to recovery.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel love?

I feel love when exchanging a knowing glance from my husband where only the two of us know the true meaning reflected in our eyes. I feel love from the laughter of my children when we share the memory of a past event together. I feel love when my grandchildren nestle in my arms, safe and warm, then fall asleep wrapped in my love. I feel an unconditional love from my two Pomeranian’s, Sugar and Spice when their soulful brown eyes look deep into my own as they cuddle in my lap begging for me to pet them one more time. Family is love.

 

silverthreading.com

silverthreading@gmail.com

Buy your copy of issue 1 today!

15 thoughts on “Interview – Colleen Chesebro

  1. Pingback: issue 1 artists | fēlan

  2. I had said I won’t make comments just like the artist and read about them. But you just did what you always do “You called me out, you made me write on your page!” When I read the Haiku, I loved it and I was excited that you captured a lifetime in 3 short verses and I’m triggered to try it for my next.
    You got that right as always “Family is LOVE”
    Hugs my dearest Colleen

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

