interviews

Interview – Frances Kelvin Otung

We’re joined today by Frances Kelvin Otung. Read her beautiful words below.

IMG_20150827_122945_editCapture

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

The last time I checked, I’m human with my own peculiarities, ‘fetishes’, ‘craze’ and cravings. Beyond that which makes me human, I’m supernatural with a love of and for books. Beautifully bonded journals beckon on me to caress their pages with my ink and breathe life into them; the thoughts on my mind seeking escape find solace in the words I’m able to write down. Sometimes, I’m lost for words, yet these are the experiences I desire to share with people (like or not-like me). Simply put, I love Love, Life (with all its packages) and Laughter!

A mother to two awesome children (whom I call Heritage), one teaches me how to sound my words (she’s going to be 7 years old in a couple of weeks) and the other gives me sweet kisses on the forehead and at the same time gets me rolling over with laughter whenever he gives his famous one-liners. My world would be totally incomplete without them. And yes, I have a King to thank for making them a reality.

I love God and we have a real relationship, where we talk in various forms…sometimes I write Him poems or letters; other times, I pray, sing or just remain silent. I love family and really do appreciate nature. Pictures and beauty gives me joy anytime of the day and I have an eye for details. I Blog. Love taking pictures and work as an Administrator in an NGO.

When you create, what inspires you?

I’m inspired by Life, the intricacies that makes it what it is, Children, sometimes Love other times pain. But generally, that’s what life’s about – a mix of the good, bad and the ugly.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

“Just Us” was written at some point in my relationship, when I wanted more or better put wish we could push beyond the boundaries we had set for ourselves. Boundaries that kept our love. I wrote that to reflect what was going through my head at the moment. More like an escape.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

Before now, that would be my Journals or a beautifully bound book with empty pages. They just call my name and beg to be written on. Presently, as the inspiration comes, I type away on the computer. But an empty journal any day is a joy! I love the feel of the book against my hand knowing that something so empty will soon be filled with some of me. However, I never get to fill a particular book that’s why I have so many poems books/journals.

How did you first discover your love for writing?

I love reading. From childhood my Dad would buy me lots of books (story books, novels) and my school bag would be heavy, because I would have my novels, plus an atlas or dictionary. I love pictures too!

What advice would you give to an aspiring poet?

Keep writing! You can always edit later. Whenever you feel the urge, feel…experience it, then pour it all out on those pages. You need to experience it first to be able to determine (to an extent) the effect it would have on your audience or readers.

If you weren’t writing about love, what would be your topic of choice?

I am not limited to Love. Like I said initially, I am inspired by life, so it will be a well-spring of many topics – Relationships, Animals, Pain, Death, Growth, Children, and Birthdays you name it.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel love?

The small stuff… the thoughtfulness behind actions.

imanikingblog.wordpress.com

imaniking@yahoo.com

@imaniking

Buy your copy of issue 1 today!

10 thoughts on “Interview – Frances Kelvin Otung

  1. Pingback: issue 1 artists | fēlan

  2. Pingback: Interview – Frances Kelvin Otung | fēlan

  3. Pingback: Interview – Frances Kelvin Otung | fēlan

Leave a Reply

