interviews

Interview – Michael Kshatri

We’re joined by another amazing poet today, Michael Kshatri.

mes mich

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

I am a senior at Mercer University and someone who just loves to write. Even though my two majors are in Spanish and Biology, writing is something that helps keep me sane. I like to play basketball (ball is life), listen to music, read, cook lots of different foods (Italian especially), and of course sleep. Gosh I love sleep. My favorite type of music is Hip-Hop and I also like to do spoken word and some rap on the side. In the future, I hope to have a masters in Public Health + Epidemiology and help give back to the community.

When you create, what inspires you?

I get inspiration from a lot of different sources. It can come from a specific song I listen to, it can be from going on a run or walk and seeing something beautiful in nature, it can be from emotion, and of course when I just need to clear my head. Writing helps me make sense of the world.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

For the piece “Mesmerized,” I was getting to know people when I first started my undergraduate studies and there was this one girl I got to get to meet. She was so intelligent, captivating, and kind I just had to write about how I felt talking to her. There was a sort of beautiful aura that drew me to her. Nothing ever happened between us, but it felt good talking to her, and that is how “Mesmerized” was created.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

I am sort of an old school type of guy. I love writing in a journal with a pencil. I feel as if I am more connected to my writing if I physically write the words down in my journal. Also, I just really love the sound of the pencil gliding across the page; it is something that gets me going.

How did you first discover your love for writing?

Well, it all started back in my freshman year of high school. We were learning about transcendentalism and then watched the movie Dead Poet’s Society. I wanted to learn how to write and make poetry that I could be proud of and say, “I made that? Cool.”

What advice would you give to an aspiring poet?

First off, you must write for yourself and no one else. Writing to me is such a personal thing that it must come from within the soul. It makes writing mean so much more and actually easier to do. Also, take note of the things around you- inspiration could come from anything. Lastly, never be afraid to show your poetry to other individuals, you never know who will be touched by your poetry.

If you weren’t writing about love, what would be your topic of choice?

My topic of choice would have to be regret. I’m not sure why, but I feel like that regret is something a lot of people feel. There are actions we as humans take that sometimes we wish we did or did not do. There are amazing stories and emotions that come out of regret.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel love?

Being with those who care about me and bring me happiness; that makes me feel love. In turn I then feel love for those individuals who can make me feel good. Spending time with those we care for I think is how I feel love.

crestfallenleaf.wordpress.com

Michael.kshatri288@gmail.com

Buy your copy of issue 1 today!

Submit your own work to issue 2.

2 thoughts on “Interview – Michael Kshatri

  1. Pingback: issue 1 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

