interviews

Interview – Julie Smith

Julie Smith today and her beautiful words.
Capture
Please tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m Julie, a 22 year old fahion blogger from Germany.

When you create, what inspires you?

I get inspired mostly by relationships between other people and personal experiences, or magazines and music.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

When I was writing the poem I was inspired by a relationship between two people. One of them secretly admires and loves the other one from afar and would love to be together, but the outcome is unsure.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

I love writing on my iPod or iPhone because it’s so easy to do it everywhere, at home on the couch, in a train, at university… But I also love notebooks, I own too much of them ;)

How did you first discover your love for writing?

I used to write short stories when I was a kid and now just recently discovered my love for writing longer stories and poems.

What advice would you give to an aspiring poet?

Just write whatever comes to your mind and what’s in your heart, sometimes you have to lose yourself in order to get into writing a good story, or poem, but you should never forget your past memories and what you experienced, it can inspire you and your writing and it’s unique. Never give up.

If you weren’t writing about love, what would be your topic of choice?

I almost always write about love, my second topic of choice would be trust.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel love?

Family and friends. People you have a certain connection to, sometimes without even having met them in person before.

5 thoughts on “Interview – Julie Smith

  1. Pingback: issue 1 artists | fēlan

  2. Pingback: Interview – Julie Smith | fēlan

  3. Pingback: Interview – Julie Smith | fēlan

Leave a Reply

