interviews

Interview – Lisa Blair

Today we are joined by Lisa Blair – a talented poet, featured in fēlan’s first ever issue!

Poem over a portion of Dawn Whitehand's piece, A Love Poem

Poem over a portion of Dawn Whitehand’s piece, A Love Poem

Please tell us a bit about yourself.
 
I was born and pretty much raised in Denver, CO. I grew up in a big, and quite complicated family. My mother was a single mother and we struggled a lot. Which fueled my need to show people the unfairness of poverty and the ways we all forget to help our fellow man.
 
I have always loved reading, writing, and art, and I took an early interest in science and philosophy. I am currently working on taking those hobbies to the next level and have plans for a book, or two, and a graphic novel.
 
When you create, what inspires you?
 
I am inspired by other people. Our everyday feelings and actions are very interesting to me. I spend much of my free time wondering why it is we think, do, and feel the way we do. I am always searching for, and trying to explain, who we all are.
 
Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.
 
I have never been very good at poetry. Being a very literal and analytical person means metaphor and expression of feeling do not come easily to me. The only time I feel the magic required to write poetry is when I think of my girlfriend. We have been together for 13 years now and to me everything about her and us is pure magic and beauty.
 
It can only be expressed through poetry.
 
What is your medium of choice? Why?
 
For writing I use whatever computer I can commander for a few minutes. On the go I was using my phone but lately I have been experimenting with Moleskine cashiers. 
 
For art I recently bought a couple of large Shinola brand notebooks with plain paper for quick sketches. I’ll invest in nicer paper when I figure out how to draw well enough to work on completing a finished piece.
 
How did you first discover your love for writing?
 
Because my childhood was so chaotic, and at times confusing, I kept a series of journals to express my more private feelings. I also loved to read and many of the books I finished made me want to write similar things. I wanted to make people feel the way books like 1984, The Giver, and A Wrinkle in Time made me feel.
 
What advice would you give to an aspiring poet?
 
I’m afraid I’m so new to doing this seriously so I have very little advice to give except to just keep going. Anybody can do creative work if only they would put in the work every single day. Most people never will, don’t be most people.
 
If you weren’t writing about love, what would be your topic of choice?
 
Science and philosophy for sure! I don’t believe there is an intrinsic meaning to life but the closest we will ever get is an understanding of the universe and a consensus on the best way to live and treat each other.
 
fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel love?
 
I feel love when I think about how precious and short life is. We often forget that the everyday annoyances and sufferings that keep us from connecting mean nothing in the grand scheme of things. Remember, we are all more similar than we are different and each of us is lucky to live at all. One life is all we have, why not fill it with as much love and caring as you can? 
One thought on “Interview – Lisa Blair

  1. Pingback: issue 1 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

