interviews

Interview – Ana Perry

Today we have Ana Perry – a talented photographer of issue 1.

Capture

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m a mom and caregiver. I’m a writer, photographer, geographer and Christian. I’m blessed to be gamma to Malakai. I’ve lived all over the US from a weekend to years and I’ve traveled through the rest. Now I’m a stay at home gramma and home school teacher to Kai.

When you create, what inspires you?

I’m usually inspired by larger than life, dramatic, landscapes. I rarely look for the subtle simplicity of “A Mother’s Love”. This photo of my daughter and grandson grabbed my heart and I knew, there is no greater love on this earth than a mother for her child. The photo may be subtle but her kiss speaks loudly of her gentle love.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

While I’m a landscape/nature photographer, my inspiration for a Mother’s Love was “I don’t want any other photographer taking this mother & baby portrait. The privilege is mine alone”. “A Mother’s Love” is about a mother and child, but this little boy has become my greatest love.

What is your medium of choice? 

My medium of choice is my Lumix DSLR. I recently bought a great camera phone. Having the best camera was my only concern when buying it. I even takes great photos under water. Yes, you can actually submerge this phone.

Why?

I prefer the DSLR because I can get better effects with lighting and use interchangeable lenses. I’d like a better camera with more at least 15mp but what I like about the Lumix is the swivel LCD display. I can get different angles so much easier. When I find something cool and I don’t have the big camera I can pull out my phone and still get a great shot.

How did you first discover your love for photography?

I’ve always had an interest in photography but the cost of developing and equipment made it prohibitive. In 2005 my family prepared for a month long road trip out west. I planned on taking photos to supplement my teaching supplies so I knew a good camera was needed. Into my life came my first DSLR, a little Kodak.

We were traveling through eastern California racing to get to our hotel in Nevada before a nasty storm overtook us. I could see the sun was setting between two mountain peaks. I jumped out of the car and ran until I could position myself for this photo before it was gone. When photographing the sky you need to capture the shot quickly as it can change in a moment. I’m visually impaired so seeing details through my camera is difficult unless I’m close to the subject. When I saw this photo for the first time on my computer I sat on my couch stunned. I didn’t realize I had captured that sunset so well with such vivid colors. In that moment I knew I wanted to be a photographer.

What advice would you give to an aspiring visual artist?

Don’t worry about the money. Do it because you love it. Let your camera be the medium you show the world beauty.

If you weren’t creating art about love, what would be your topic of choice?

I may not take many photos about love but what I photograph are things I do love. Things that catch my eye then grip my heart. Waterfalls, mountains, deserts, water; these are what I convey love with my camera. For me landscapes are about love; they are what I love and desire to protect.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel love?

What makes me feel love, real love, is my family; my daughters and my grandson.

geophiliac.wordpress.com

geophiliaphotography@gmail. com

Buy your copy of issue 1 today!

Submit your own work to issue 2.

Leave a Reply

