interviews

Interview – Richard Mark Ankers

B&W Avatar

Capture

Read Richard’s interview for issue #1 here.

Any new items in your life, projects you’re working on, moves to new locations, etc. that you’d like to tack on to the ‘about you’ in your first interview? 

I am very excited to have had several short stories either published or about to be published with some very reputable U.S Science Fiction and Fantasy magazines, as well as my short story ‘Clockwork Christmas’ being published by Leap Books for their ‘Fright Before Christmas’ anthology. It is a great boost to a writer to have his work recognised and I am always appreciative of that fact.

Tell us a bit about your working process.

I am very fortunate when it comes to writing that ideas come easy to me. Inspiration, for me, can be found in a colour or a word or a thought, and the story or poem I create from them simply unravels before me. I know just how something will start and finish regardless of length within seconds of the original idea. I appreciate not everyone is so fortunate, so usually keep that to myself.

What artists/writers do you admire?

As far as artwork goes, I was always an enormous fan, and still am, of the wonderful Fantasy artist Rodney Matthews. As a teenager I used to purchase posters of his work and had them all over my bedroom walls.

When it comes to writers there are far too many to mention, but the one standout author who I will always aspire to is Michael Moorcock. His range and breadth of work is enormous and I own almost every single one of his books (that’s an awful lot.)

Why create?

I just have to. There’s so much in my head that I’d explode if I didn’t.

Do you prefer writing/creating art about ‘fear’ more than ‘love?’ Why or why not?

I would say the honest answer is somewhere in-between. I have a penchant for the ghostly in my work, but they are often as a result of doomed love or melancholy longing.

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve been given?

To be myself. If you are true to yourself when writing it will show and be appreciated more because of it.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel fear?

That cold feeling like a breath on the back of an exposed neck. And spiders, I hate the big, fast ones.

 

 

Buy your copy of issue 2 on November 20!

Submit your own work to issue 3.

3 thoughts on “Interview – Richard Mark Ankers

  1. Pingback: Interview – Richard Mark Ankers | Richard Ankers

  2. Pingback: issue 2 artists | fēlan

  3. Pingback: Interview – Richard Mark Ankers – fēlan

Leave a Reply

