interviews

Interview – S.M.

Capture

 

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

I am a writer,  an artist, and a philosophical visionary in my own mind.

When you create, what inspires you?

I am typically inspired by life. All that is wrong with it and how it needs to be released and corrected if possible. All that is right with it that can be improved and hopefully replicated. I guess I just have a general need to communicate with anyone willing to listen.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

My poem “Fear” was inspired by the personal feelings I have about life, loss, and everything in between.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

I usually just collect tiny scraps of paper with my thoughts written on them. From there I revise, edit, and save my works as email drafts on my phone. I like to keep one foot in the past and one foot in the future.

How did you first discover your love for writing?

Even as a kid, I have always found that the words will just pour from me should I slow down long enough to let them. But it’s hard to find the time and still be a productive member of society…or at least that’s what I have always thought.

What advice would you give to an aspiring poet/visual artist?

My advice to anyone seeking to enhance their creative efforts would be to just do it and do so with no guilt about how your work could be monetized. Self doubt and self regulation are equal hindrances to the creative process.

If you weren’t writing/about fear, what would be your topic of choice?

I write what I feel and hopefully you feel what I write.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel fear?

I think my love of life is the key ingredient that contributes to my own fears. What’s to fear if you don’t care about anything?


 

Buy your copy of issue 2 on November 20!

Submit your own work to issue 3.

One thought on “Interview – S.M.

  1. Pingback: issue 2 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

