interviews

Interview – Frances Kelvin Otung

IMG_20150827_122945_edit

Capture

Read Frances’ interview for issue #1 here.

 

Tell us a bit about your working process.

Before I write any poem, I’m either in tune with or get into tune with what I’m writing about. For difficult topics (like FEAR), I try to feel the object of discussion and write from the experience I’m enveloped in.

What artists/writers do you admire?

I love Shakespeare, I tried reading his whole works at some point (I’m not sure I finished it). I adore books by Bishop T.D. Jakes, Karen Kingsbury, Max Lucado, Francine Rivers, Frank Peretti and Ted Dekker amongst others. Also lots of really good African writers like Chinua Achebe, Myne Whitman, Amb Unyime-Ivy King, Chioma Nnani etc. On the whole, I love writers that make me feel what they are writing about, who lace their works with humor and these do.

 

Do you prefer writing/creating art about ‘fear’ more than ‘love?’ Why or why not?

No! I prefer writing about Love, because it’s so much easier (smiles). For Fear, I have to enter that scenario to be able to write about it. Pain is easy to write about too.

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve been given?

BECOME! That means I believe enough to become.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel fear?

SNAKES!!!

 

imanikingblog.wordpress.com
imaniking@yahoo.com
twitter: @imaniking

 

Buy your copy of issue 2 on November 20!

Submit your own work to issue 3.

3 thoughts on “Interview – Frances Kelvin Otung

  1. Pingback: issue 2 artists | fēlan

  2. Pingback: Interview – Frances Kelvin Otung | imanikingblog

  3. Pingback: Interview – Frances Kelvin Otung | fēlan

Leave a Reply

