interviews

Interview – Ameliapeel

Capture

Read Ameliapeel’s interview for issue #1 here.

Any new items in your life, projects you’re working on, moves to new locations, etc. that you’d like to tack on to the ‘about you’ in your first interview? 

As far as brand new art, unfortunately not that much. Work is busy and i don’t always get the proper time afterwards to to sit down and concentrate on what i love the most, art!  I have dabbled into a few paintings and have done some computer created collage pieces for a feature in another art zine that i hope will be out soon. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about writing againand therefore perhaps creating a zine, which is something i used to do.

Tell us a bit about your working process.

I rarely, if ever plan what i’m going to be drawing or painting. I just start with either a face or a mess of lines and it grows from there. Sometimes something good comes out of it! Collages are the same way, Its only when creating something like dolls or assemblage pieces do i really take the time to think about what i want the finished piece to be.

What artists/writers do you admire?

When i was a kid Andy Warhol was my favorite artist, then Keith Haring. I really like so much art its hard to name them all. I love the work of Camille Rose Garcia, Nomi Chi, Mark Ryden, Liz McgGrath, Brittney Lee, Mab Graves, Brandi Milne and soooo many others. There are tons of unknown artists on Etsy that i have discovered!

Why create?

Creating gives you a release, it is a documentation of a feeling in a place and time that will only happen once. People create because its fun and relaxing. They create to put shape into a feeling that they cant express otherwise. They create to tell a story. I get deeply involved in the art i make when the feelings are right and just forget about everything else:  good or bad  it will let me forget for a while.

Do you prefer writing/creating art about ‘fear’ more than ‘love?’ Why or why not?

I prefer creating anything about how i am feeling at the time. Most of the time though my art and writings lean towards a moodier side. All but one of my zines i did in the early 90s were perzines that dove into my depression. My collages, sculptures and drawings back then reflected the same yet my art still goes deep into feelings of confusion, sadness but now there are some elements of happiness too. I wrote about fear and love but never preferred one over the other. I would say though that i had more fear in me than love back then.

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve been given?

I’ll take advice about getting focused or what i should do to better myself although sometimes its hard for follow through. As far as the best piece of advice I’ve been given, Save your money and think about your future. Always think things through before acting on them, think about the consequences to your actions. I wish i followed this more when i was younger! I usually am one to give good advice to people when i hear what they have to say about things that are going on in their lives because i’ve felt that i’ve been through so much and i can help.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel fear?

Fear is more than just being scared of the dark. Fear in my world is an outline of depression. Not being sure, not knowing the outcome, rejection, lack of self confidence, being left alone. Its hard to understand what some people are going through and most people dealing with it do not want to be a burden, that in itself is having fear of expressing your true feelings when you really need to. That’s why we choose art, its wont judge you or never not listen.

Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.

You can overcome your fears if you learn to listen to your heart and know that you are strong enough to do so, which you are!

facebook.com/ameliapeelart

mutantmud@gmail.com

@bludmittens


 

Buy your copy of issue 2!

Submit your own work to issue 3.

One thought on “Interview – Ameliapeel

  1. Pingback: issue 2 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

