interviews

Interview – fishspit

 

 

Capture

Please tell us a bit about yourself.
My name is Fishspit. It’s been a hard life. I’ve spent a good chunk of it institutionalized. I’ve rambled here and there . . . doing the best I can. I use 3 dots when i write. I learned this from L. F. Celine. It’s because I never learned how to use punctuation. I left school without knowing how to write. Nobody would publish the stories I obsessively wrote. So, starting in 1984 I created my own magazine. . . Wiseblood. It was a punk rock zine. When punk rock died in 1988 I kept putting out Wiseblood with little stories about mental institutions, drug addiction, and the weird life I led. I’ve put out 63 issues.

When you create, what inspires you?
My muse . . . If she don’t come to me . . . I’m empty.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.
A little cat named Pip.

How did you first discover your love for creating?
I discovered it in a mental hospital! There was nothing to do but sit and stare in that institution. I became absolutely devoid of any purpose. I sunk deeper and deeper into a depression. One day a volunteer came and collected us loonies up. She had magazines, stick glue and safety scissors. She wanted us to make collages. Most of my comrades just drooled . . . thorazine you know. But I went at
it. I found joy there! After everyone was gone i continued to make collages. I was so happy. I had found a cure for that emptiness. Upon release I made thousands of collages! And I started to write poetry . . . then i started writing stories.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel joy?
I sit and watch my delightful cat all day. When she looks at me and I look at her . . . and we blink at each other . . . I know she loves me then . . . and that makes me “feel” intense joy.

Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.
Helping others is a doorway to joy. I have no job . . . and no future really. But I spend a lot of hours volunteering at a crisis clinic for mentally ill street people. Joy springs out of simply being with someone in their pain. Letting them tell their story. Then identifying and saying, “I’ve been there.” And the Joy you feel knowing God loves us low folk too.

Check back Jan. 22 to buy your copy of issue 3!

Submit your own work to issue 4.

2 thoughts on “Interview – fishspit

  1. Pingback: issue 3 artists – fēlan

  2. I have nothing but respect for people who struggle with mental health issues.I worked as a community mental health nurse for many a year. It was an honour and a privilege to walk with the people whom I served, and such a treasure trove of learning and caring. I wish you nothing but the very best – you and Pip – and those with whom you share the pain :)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

