interviews

Interview – Charly Priest

 

Capture

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

I took up writing three years ago at age thirty after a twelve year hiatus of not writing at all. At that age I also discovered a whole new world called social media, that there things called blogs, I even discovered twitter. So I got pretty late to the party.I always had a nack for imagination and liked reading, but never took it seriously. I had lived quite a rough life throughout my twenties and certainly in that lifestyle there was no room for me at least, to even think about writing. After another near death experience at age thirty I decided it was time to slow down, I found out about wordpress and started following everybody trying to read as much as I could and still do as much as I can. I do call wordpress “my free online university”. So I started slowly writing poetry basically learning from others I read, about structures, punctuations, e.t.c. But to my surprise I found my own voice, which I enjoy very much expressing even if nobody reads it.

When you create, what inspires you?

For me inspiration comes from anybody and anything. I might be staring at a fly and suddenly I get this crazy ideas about being a fly. My head is constantly bombarded with words, phrases, and ideas. So if I don´t write them down, I´d probably go nuts.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

I can´t tell you. That would take the mystery out of my genius. I forgot to say in the beginning when you asked me to tell you something about myself that I´m a silly goofball. So inspirations about the piece I send you came from who knows where in my mind.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

My medium of choice, it ranges. I get bored if I only write about love, or death, or this Haiku´s, or Tankas, I have to keep changing it. And really exploring since I´m quite the novice at this art form.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

In a hospital bed. Since I thought I was not going to make it out. I actually started to write my will. After that I decided to write to the people I loved. And as months passed and I didn´t die, well during those months without t.v, I just started writing things that I saw in the hospital except that I added quite a lot of imagination to what I really saw. Just to enhance that reality and make it funny even though it was only me who read it. Sort of a therapy. So my last pass by a hospital is what made me discover my creativity.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel joy?

Seeing my family healthy. And me too.

Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.

I just find it quite amazing that somebody, in this case you would actually pick me to interview me. So thank you very much.

charlypriest.wordpress.com

charlypriest@yahoo.com


Check back Jan. 22 to buy your copy of issue 3!

Submit your own work to issue 4.

4 thoughts on “Interview – Charly Priest

  1. Pingback: issue 3 artists – fēlan

  2. Pingback: I got interviewed | CRAZY LIFE

Leave a Reply

