interviews

Interview – Dara Reidyr

Capture2

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

I am a 41 year old wife to a wonderful husband. I’m work for myself and play mom to two cats. I enjoy spending time reading, writing, watching an occasional movie, drinking a warm cup of tea, while engrossed in philosophical discussion. Dara Reidyr is my pen name, due to at the time I began writing creatively, I was using my real name for other types of writing and I wished to keep the two separate. Now, my readers know me by my pen name, so I stuck with it.

When you create, what inspires you?

What inspires me most when writing are various things. Sometimes it’s the interactions I have while out in public, going about my day. Sometimes it’s a picture I see or artwork. Most times it’s my philosophical views or something as simple as a song.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

The inspiration behind my selected poem is a subdued kind of joy, one that I enjoy feeling when I’m seeking solitude from the hustle and bustle of the day. I love the cozy feeling of curling up with a warm cup of tea, wrapped in a blanket with my pen and pad (yes, I still like to jot down ideas on good ol’ fashion pen and pad). This is the kind of joy I seek most, that which is relaxing and wholly fulfilling.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

While I still love to create by writing my thoughts down, I do love using my chromebook laptop to post poetry on my blog.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

I have always had a love of literature and as a child I enjoyed reading Nancy Drew mystery books. I studied literature as an undergrad in college but it wasn’t until many years later when I sat down to write a memoir, that a poem simply came out of nowhere. I never really read much poetry before this, and never had I written a poem until then. That was in 2012. I have been completely hooked ever since.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel joy?

What gives me the most joy in life, is the feeling of making someone’s life a little better. By helping others, mostly through my writing, to feel what I feel or by opening their mind to a new concept.

 

daraswriting.com

daraswriting@gmail.com


Get your copy of issue 3!

Submit your own work to issue 4.

4 thoughts on “Interview – Dara Reidyr

  1. I’ve been a fan of Dara’s work since I came to WordPress. I like to read her poems with my eyes closed and listen to the imagery. I’m also excited to here there’s a memoir and can’t wait for her to publish it!

    Like

  2. Pingback: issue 3 artists – fēlan

Leave a Reply

