interviews

Interview – Maia Vivar

mv

 

 Please tell us a bit about yourself.

This is always the hard part. Describing myself, that is. But to answer, I’m a writer, artist, enthusiast of many things, and dreamer of very strange dreams. I am often depicted as weird, if not awkward or silent. I have a love affair with my bed and my books. I am a huge nerd. I’m also a theatre-geek and am aspiring to be a filmmaker. Fun fact: I’m in an acappella group with Shakespeare and Van Gogh (please believe me).

When you create, what inspires you?

Everything; from a leaf gliding down, to a recent meltdown. Absolutely anything can inspire me.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

Ghost White was heavily inspired by own soul-draining emotions. Melancholy isn’t rare in my spectrum of emotions.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

Easy. Pen and paper. Although I adore the autocorrect feature of word processors as I–despite my stance as a writer–am very bad at spelling (it’s my kryptonite), nothing beats the feeling of pen touching paper. At least, that is in my opinion. So if anyone needs a pen or a piece of paper, you all know who to go to.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

I first discovered my love for creating when I was just a tiny little thing. Actually, Now that I think about it, I’ve always had a knack for creativity and imagination. It’s always been a part of me.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel melancholy?

Loneliness. Deadlines. Seeing someone I love be crushed into bits by life’s ravenous nature. Awareness of what’s really happening to the world.

 

twitter: @MaiaVivar
Instagram: @mcvvr
2 thoughts on “Interview – Maia Vivar

  1. Pingback: issue 4 artists – fēlan

  2. Pingback: Interview – Maia Vivar | fēlan

Leave a Reply

