interviews

Interview – Aleskos Salter

Capture

Please tell us a little bit about yourself.
I’m a twenty-year-old poet that’s just learning how to stretch my fingers. I work in the F&B industry because of the inspiration it provides, not to mention the free booze. I also need to do something that pays for rent.

When you create, what inspires you?
As cliche as it is, I tend to be inspired by what goes on around me. To make that less vague, an example would be that I like to go on hedonistic binges and see what stories are worth telling at the end of them.

Inspiration behind “An Unconventional Guide to Misery”:
The first stanza actually says it – a mate of mine got sick of me always being down and said I should write a book about it. A couple of good lines had been stuck in my head for a couple of weeks at that point, too. They didn’t seem to fit anywhere else, except for in this poem. It essentially wrote itself after the first stanza.

What is your medium of choice? Why?
These days, it seems to be poetry. I used to write prose, but I found myself lacking the patience to stick to it. Also, I hate editing.

How did you first discover your love for creating?
I’d always been an avid reader, devouring Goosebumps novels when I was younger. Started writing short stories not long after that. It all just flowed into something else. Now it’s poetry.

fēlan is Old English for feel. What makes you feel melancholy?
The short answer would be myself. I have a tendency of welcoming a little too much drama into my life which tends to blow up in my face. But as for specific events or things that do – matters of the heart would be the one that I feel affect me most.

One thought on “Interview – Aleskos Salter

  1. Pingback: issue 4 artists – fēlan

Leave a Reply

