interviews

Interview – Lindsey M Sheehan

Capture

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

I think too much. I’m even questioning this question; are you asking for my demographics or for what I think of myself? How about a bit of personal history: after 10 years of nearly being a writer I decided that my brain needed a rest from words and I should be an artist. But those words, those pesky words always want to sneak back in, as evidenced in Brave Heart.

When you create, what inspires you?

Whatever has been on my mind. I find it difficult to process my feelings so being able get them out on paper and see them from a fresh perspective helps me understand what’s going on inside my head. Those tend to be my best pieces. For daily practice I choose something I’m not good at; I refuse to live in fear of drawing hands or noses.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

Brave Heart means a lot to me because growing up I was always told to have more confidence, which is actually a way of telling someone you think they look weak. I wasn’t weak, I was quiet, but this frequent mislabeling undermined me and made it worse not better. As an adult I’ve found that a lot of women’s magazines do the same thing, so I took those misused words and reformed them into what I felt, as a reminder that I am brave where it counts.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

My medium of choice is all the mediums because I am a wally and can’t decide what I want to get good at.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

I used to write and illustrate my own stories in primary school, so it’s always been there. The difficulty is giving yourself permission to do it as an adult when there are more important things to do (if you can call washing up and going to work important).

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel courage?

The love of my loved ones. Nothing encourages me more than the support of my personal cheerleaders.

Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.

I added “Queen” to my Instagram handle to give me the courage to push further with my art, to challenge myself to live up to the title.

 

thesmingit@gmail.com
Instagram: @lindseytheartqueen


Check back May 20 to buy your copy of issue 5!

Submit your own work to issue 6.

One thought on “Interview – Lindsey M Sheehan

Leave a Reply

