interviews

Interview – Georgie Watts

Capture

 

Please tell us a bit about yourself.
I’m a married mother and artist living in very rural Norfolk,UK.

When you create, what inspires you?
How I feel/what mood I’m in on the whole.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.
My ‘I Exist’ painting is about me feeling shy and wanting to really be wild and be truly myself.. I exist reminds me to be courageous and not hide!
My ‘Light’ poem came from a scary walk, lost in the dusk to dark in some very deep woods. I imagined a female wolf started staring out at us, wanting to eat us and thinking we were mad for being there in the dark . but instead of eating us, she comes out into a patch of moonlight and leads us out to safety. I was feeling like I needed some strong female courage in everyday life as well as in those woods at the time!

What is your medium of choice?
I wish I could actually choose a medium but I keep going between words, drawing and paintings in fairly equal measures.

Why?
I think I can’t stick to any medium because I get bored very quickly.

How did you first discover your love for creating?
When I wrote my first song at 14.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel courage?
Standing tall, being ready, being steely in spite of fear.

Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.
It means alot to be in this issue of Courage because courage is something I have to work on all the time, every second of the day.


Check back May 20 to buy your copy of issue 5!

Submit your own work to issue 6.

One thought on “Interview – Georgie Watts

Leave a Reply

