interviews

Interview – Eric N. Peterson

Capture

Please tell us about yourself.

I’m 51 years old, and I’m a cartoonist from Atlanta, Ga USA.
I love to draw and paint. In my imagination is my playground… I have a blast!

When you create, what inspires you?

Anything and everything, from my own thought-flow, to sounds in the next room, an image on the t.v. or visuals from all around. I’m also inspired my many wonderful artists, writers, musicians etc…

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

The one from my comic book “The Electric Dinner” is inspired by the Zen of the creative process, the being mindful, being present with the creative vibration and not losing sight of it.” The Sufi poem is inspired by my interests in Eastern Mysticism, movement, transformation, and journey of the soul.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

Acrylic paint, inks, colored pencils. I like the immediacy and directness of these mediums. They’re fast, and I like how easily they reproduce for print.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

I was 9 years old when I really felt it click, and I was drawing with a friend. We were having a great time.
I drew a cartoon of a guy with his mouth jammed full of cigarettes.” It was pure joy, it made me laugh, my friend laughed too.

What makes you feel courage?

Being centered in my creative self, creativity is boundless. Having found my creative self, it brings the courage to explore further. Courage comes from the building of this sense of self, the core of self.

Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.

Have fun, create, make art without fear, feel the excitement!

ericnpeterson44@gmail.com

facebook.com/ericnewmanpeterson


Get your copy of issue 5!

Submit your own work to issue 6.

3 thoughts on “Interview – Eric N. Peterson

Leave a Reply

