interviews

Interview – Kara D. Spain

Capture

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m a budding poet, having most recently only found my true poetic voice. I feel a connection to the Romantic poets of old and as I often say, I’m doing my best to carry their torch forward. I grew up in the small town south, introverted, with a love of books and music. My husband and I are happily married (ten years) and we have two spoiled cats. I can often be found writing poems with a good cup of coffee or philosophizing on the state of the world. I’ve been published recently by a couple of other publications and am sincerely excited to share my works with whomever finds their way into the world of my poetry.

When you create, what inspires you?

I’m often inspired by my interactions with society or my views on life in general. I’m the type of person that can see the good and bad in everything and so my poems may sometimes swing from cynical to ephemeral. I can be inspired by a beautiful sky, or a nasty person in the checkout line at the grocery store. It really just depends on the day and my mood. Sometimes I’m inspired to write about my dreams, which can sometimes give my poems an “other worldly” feel.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

My poem, “No Rest” came to me one day after feeling very frustrated at being rejected by publications that seemed to cater to boxed writing. I felt as if I was some sort of weirdo writer or something, although, I’ve often felt like an outsider most of my life, so it really goes beyond just the publishing world. I’m grateful to have been able to find some out of the box publishers recently. “Stepping Into Madness” is about how I feel among society. I can often sense the toxic vibe when around negative people, so I feel as if I have to sidestep them, so to speak. Lastly, “Captive Vice” was written some time ago, I have just now through felan been able to find a home for this poem. It centers around society’s never ending search for that ever elusive happiness by way of the wrong means (i.e. material possessions).

What is your medium of choice?

I love using my Chromebook for typing poetry. I will occasionally share a poem on my blog via Blogger’s platform but I am not really active on social media. Why? My Chromebook is super easy to use and it’s small, so I can easily take it with me anywhere. I’m not hugely active on social media because I’ve often not seen the point of it, as well as it’s very distracting to me as a poet.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

I think it has always been there. I look back now and remember as an adolescent who loved playing the violin as well as reading Nancy Drew mystery books. I was an English lit major in college as well and had a love affair with Chaucer and Shakespeare :) Poetry, did not find me until the year 2012 but I believe it was always there, hiding, waiting to spark at the right moment.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel cynical?

I have a love/hate relationship with society and humanity at large. I naturally like to form small numbers of close relationships, so being in large crowds of people rubs me the wrong way; however, I am often cynical when I can easily see through someone who’s being fake or lying to me. I really can’t stand that.

lyrical-discovery.blogspot.com
kdspain24@gmail.com

Check back July 22 to buy your copy of issue 6!

Submit your own work to issue 7.

3 thoughts on “Interview – Kara D. Spain

  1. Thank you to Jennifer for publishing my interview. I’ve shared it to my blog and google plus page. This is truly exciting! Look forward to the issue.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Interview – Kara D. Spain | fēlan

Leave a Reply

