interviews

Interview – Aiden Layer

YouPretendToBeAGoodPerson

 

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m a 19 year old college student living in Tennessee. I try to learn as much as I can every day.

When you create, what inspires you?

I use a lot of trial-and-error methods when making, and often I am inspired by the errors. I like to test out different processes and treatments because I am curious what the end results will look like.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

Even though I don’t think of myself as having a cynical perspective, I do find myself unconsciously repeating some cynical mantras from time to time, which is how I came up with the text. I decided to make the mantras as large and bold as I could, similar to Jenny Holzer’s
in-your-face truisms, because that’s how these mantras feel. I used notebook paper because I associate these feelings of deception and falseness with school and the identities we present there in order to fit in. I’ve also been experimenting recently with abstract folding without using a grid to guide me.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

Right now I’m a huge fan of glassine, which is a very thin, glossy, translucent paper. I’m really into origami tessellations, and glassine is my favorite material to fold with since it’s so easy to be precise due to the paper’s thinness and translucency. It also looks great back-lit. It’s a very delicate and unforgiving paper, but a design doesn’t feel finished to me until I am able to make it in glassine. I like origami tessellations because I enjoy the hypnotic act of folding and the puzzle of collapsing a model.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

I can’t quite remember- I think it must have been a gradual process. But now I’m at the point where I can’t stop creating.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel cynical?

I rarely feel cynical. I’m a pretty optimistic person and believe a lot in other people. Sometimes though I do feel cynical towards myself and my motives. I don’t think this is a bad thing though because it is important to ask questions and search for the truth.

Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.

Thank you for reading this! And thank you Jennifer for the opportunity to show my images!

aidenlayer@gmail.com
aidenlayer.com

Check back July 22 to buy your copy of issue 6!

Submit your own work to issue 7.

Leave a Reply

