interviews

Interview – Sam Klein

 

** My sincere apologies. When this interview was first published, the wrong poem was featured here. This has since been updated. – JNW

sk

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

I recently graduated from college with an bachelors degree in Humanities, but I’m returning to study software development. These things aren’t as separated as you may think. I have a deep interest in digital humanities, and I think robots will make a big impact on how literature is consumed and how we perceive the world.

When you create, what inspires you?

I take a lot of inspiration from the people I’m around and whatever I’m reading or going on. Most of my poems are specifically written about people in very specific times and places, not myself. And I have a deep, artistic compassion for my subjects.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

The poem “Liberal Arts College” was written in my first year of college. I was living in a city that was making a lot of national attention then. The protests troubled many of us, and going into college, most undergraduates felt powerless. The zeitgeist made us feel quite cynical and numb.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

Honestly I’m programming most of the time. Please check out Twitter Moth Generator. There’s a really cool Mental Floss story about this sort of thing.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

I began at a very early age. I like to see how different people interpret the same story.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel cynical?

Graduating with a degree in the Humanities has made me feel very cynical. So I must say any sort of intellectual exercise makes me impulsively cynical.

sam@ruzekklein.com
sam.ruzekklein.com

Get your copy of issue 6!

Submit your own work to issue 7.

One thought on “Interview – Sam Klein

  1. Pingback: Interview – Julie Smith | fēlan

Leave a Reply

