interviews

Interview – Kara D. Spain

kds

See Kara’s first interview here.

Any new items in your life, projects you’re working on, moves to new locations, etc. that you’d like to tack on to the ‘about you’ in your first interview?

Since my last interview, I’ve been published a few times including: Indiana Voice Journal, Journey of the Heart: Women’s Spiritual Poetry, The Poet Community, and forthcoming by The Penwood Review. It’s been an exciting past few months.

Tell us a bit about your working process.

Since finding my voice as a poet, I’m realizing that I can’t force a poem to come forth, because when I’ve done that, it never seems to feel natural. It’s much more exciting to look back at a poem and realize I can’t remember what I was thinking or what was going on at the time of writing it, as was the process of the piece that will be in this issue of felan.

What artists/writers do you admire?

I’m so glad this question is part of the interview. I love the 18th century Romantic poets but also the Transcendentalists; although, I must say without a doubt, I’ve been most inspired by a female poet of the 18th century named Mary Darby Robinson. Her poetry really speaks to me and I feel a kinship to her writing form.

Why create?

Creating is what makes us human; no matter what you create. Creating is what sets us free from any form of tyranny. William Blake summarized it best: “I must create a system or be enslaved by another mans; I will not reason and compare: my business is to create.”

Do you prefer writing/creating art about ‘fascination’ more than ‘cynicism?’ Why or why not?

I’m really on the fence here with this question. I love writing about societal issues and they often come across as cynical or at the very least, blunt and direct, but there’s something about writing on the topic of “fascination” in that it frees my mind to imagine the “what if” scenario. I’d much rather live in that mindset but I try to balance it with a real world view.

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve been given?

Probably from an English professor many, many years ago. She encouraged me to write though it took about 16 years for it to happen. I must, at least partly, thank my Shakespeare professor, Dr. Jacobs, for that.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel fascination?

I’m fascinated with the idea of other worlds, perhaps other planets that we could inhabit, but more often I’m fascinated with the idea of the “other worldly” whether that’s a mystical idea or what science has discovered about space thus far. I’m fascinated by human behavior and the unexplored psyche, mainly the research of Carl Jung and dream analysis. I often write on my dreams, which is what my featured poem is mainly based upon.

Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.

Thank you to Jennifer for publishing my work. I love the idea of poetry published alongside photography and artwork.

lyrical-discovery.blogspot.com

kdspain24@gmail.com


Buy a copy of issue 7!

Submit your work to issue 8.

4 thoughts on “Interview – Kara D. Spain

  1. Pingback: issue 7 artists | fēlan

  2. Pingback: Interview – Kara D. Spain | fēlan

Leave a Reply

