interviews

Interview – Sophie Sherwood

by Sophie Sherwood

by Sophie Sherwood

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

In essence I’m a photographer, but I also like to occasionally sing and play music, do a spot of collage and draw stuff. I’ve also helped to run Papergirl Bristol for the past 2 years, along with organising creative workshops for pinhole photography, Lomography and zine making.

When you create, what inspires you?

Watching others go about their business. Looking at other artist’s work. Punk music.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

Basically I’m trying to get people to address their relationship with waste, and to ask them to question their day to day surroundings. I’m passionate about recycling and the environmental impact we have on the world, but I also have a fascination with what people throw away; some of it is bizarre.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

Photography. I’ve never been asked why. Or if I have I can’t remember my answer! There’s something about the nature of it, that you can return to the negatives and use them multiple times for other reasons. In that way it’s a good medium to use for a keen recycler like me. It’s often been talked about in the context of memories and nostalgia, but there’s something deeper about it compared to other mediums I’ve worked with. Having a camera in front of you can also act as a barrier between you and the world, like a protective bubble.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

Probably when I was very small, maybe about 4 or 5. I remember trying to build machines out of bits and bobs around the house (of which there were plenty). I also watched my mum and dad creating throughout my childhood, so it seemed like a natural thing to do from a very early age.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel fascination?

Underground cultures, little known facts about the world, minority groups. For a long time, I was fascinated by the giant squid because so little was known about it. It’s exciting to think that there’s a giant creature living on the same planet that’s managed to remain hidden for so long.

Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.

Motivation and confidence is hard to come by as an artist, but it’s important to think that no one has or will produce exactly what you produce. It’s useful to bounce ideas off of other people, but don’t take one opinion as the be all and end all of what you want to achieve. I’ve had projects completed destroyed by one friend saying that it won’t work, and I’ve taken it too much to heart. I think Nick Cave puts it well: “To act on a bad idea is better than to not act at all, because the worth of the idea never becomes apparent until you do it.”

sophie.a.w.sherwood@gmail.com

www.sophiesherwood.co.uk

photosophiaus.wordpress.com

instagram: @photosophiaus


Buy a copy of issue 7!

Submit your work to issue 8.

3 thoughts on “Interview – Sophie Sherwood

  1. Pingback: issue 7 artists | fēlan

  2. Pingback: Interview – Sophie Sherwood | fēlan

Leave a Reply

