interviews

Interview – Thomas Locke

 

14975813_10155511510809741_282219328_o

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

…I have been trying to make art, since the 1980s, I was a student of Juan Cruz, in Syracuse NY.,. Juan, did some out reach, to youth at risk, I guess, that’s the term.. We did some painting murals, around Syracuse NY.. And I exhibited, at the local, community art gallery, gallery 320, it was also the community art school, the gallery, was well supported, by the local community and its established artist,., a lot was happening in painting, in the 1980s, around Syracuse NY.. Clement Greenburg, the critic, championed, a group of painters from , Syracuse,, a strong, abstract expressionist, type of movement,, gained a lot of national attention.., I called it the cult of golden paint, ,. Golden paint company, is right there out side of Syracuse, and every body was using golden paint, by the buckets. Delevan center, was the center of that movement.. I had a studio there at Delavan Center, briefly before moving on, to alive in studio space, . I was only in my early 20s, just out of my teens, and working with Juan for a few years, in my youth,, staying out of trouble… Art is a great therapeutic, device, and a wonderful, use of time…,. I struggle a lot, with this new direction, into sculpture, 3 d, work… and greatly appreciative, of George Segal, and his revolutionary, approach to the human, form , in sculpture… he was truly, a great artist, I have realized, after struggling to learn something, about this process, and approach to the form.. I had always suppressed, realism, and the form, in my art, of the past….

When you create, what inspires you?

Right now, at this time, the wow,, effect of seeing, life size, figures, standing up, to gravity.. And struggling to gain some, technique, and skill, at this medium. And learning about, princples, such, as , poise, tension, dynamic tension, dynamicness… movement,, capturing presence, in a figure.. the contour, line… is inspiring,, like learning to see.. More like feel, the pieces, YES, that’s it. feel the pieces,.., you don’t see them like you do in painting, seeing painting?…. odd,,, I like to drum! well I see and feel the pieces, and get a sense of the next piece,?. Its a expressionist type, work.,. its not a more , new modern, materials, type realism.. .. and it is still, a very relevant, type of work. And still has a wow! effect.. Amazing sometimes, espcially, in the early pieces, iw as completely in shock, some times.. Or like wow! In awe… from some of the results, of the pieces..

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

rhythm,? Repletion, leading to a sense of movement,, and trying to improve on, the next piece, step by step,.. I was seeing this, serial,, approach, to groupings?,. In the art of Abakanowicz Magdalena, of Poland, and Steinunn, Thorarinsdottir, of ice land, and of course, Anthoney Gormley, of the UK.., and dreaming.. Hi hi. Right now I am only able to work in plaster gauze, due to the high cost of other materials.. But a lot of great artist work in plaster, today.. Such as Thomas Housenago) and his revolution. And Niclola Hicks, of the UK.. And also Kiky Smith, of New York.., this inspires, me, to know that there are still artist, out there working in plaster, and doing great things with the figure, form.. It was pretty much all abstract steel welded sculpture, in upstate NY.. for most of my years… just recently been seeing more and more figurative work..-..

What is your medium of choice? Why?

right now,. Due to no other materials being readily available, I am pretty much, doing plaster… and using sticks, and stones, and pine,. and earth,, and carbon.,., but my first love, will always be, golden paint.!! hi hi…

How did you first discover your love for creating?

well, I was sort of pushed into art, as a device of therapeutic. Change!… it was art therapy, and still is… it was a great thing, that was a community project, Juan Cruz working with crazy kids, and troubled kids, believe me, I am extremely grateful, to Juan and the community of Syracuse, . I guess, the doctors, who set that up?. Arranged, it,,, I sure hope, that programs, or artist are still doing that sort of thing, now days, , I cant imagine not having had, a mentor, like cruz,,. I think that it would have been very different.. I had a opportunity to hang out at Syracuse university, and meet some great artist, and ROGER MACK, the dean of sculpture school there., at Comstock Art Facility,, he was pretty cool.. And if he were alive today, he would like this sculpture project of mine,,… that was a great opurtunity, and absorbed a lot,. Around the university,. Great lectures and symposiums.. From visiting artist, and then hanging out at Comstock, at the studios,,,.,.,. Juan did A LOT! for youths…

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel envy?

i don’t feel envy? At all towards anybody!.. Envy,?? Not sure,, … I wish that I was a  more normal student,  or a better citizen, in my youth. I did envy,   a little maybe?  when I was younger..?… but now I just strive, to  improve  my art, and my self, at this time, and be a better human being… P.S., I do envy? I envy these people here, in this town, and the culture they have, compared  to the culture,  I come from,, looking back,  … but art helped change a lot?,…. but I wish that we had more street artist, and street musicians,, but I think  that it  is against the law, back in my city..  hi hi hi,? Not sure..     so i do envy!.. Yes  I envy , this culture  and the peace,  most fo the people have.. Very  good  people , generally speaking..  and what culture!… lucky, and the youth, here seem so  good and nice and respectful..  a lot of clever people.,… very different.. Thankfully…..

Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.

I don’t have titles, for the pieces right now,, but this new grouping is about the sky!.. The milky way and the stars… and the image of the musician on bench, is from my street photography, ? I love street musicians, and street art.,. very rich culture in this town… I sort of envoy that?… I envy the rich culture, here, compared to my city,, so I do envy?..

thomlocke73@hotmail.com

Check back November 18 to get your copy of issue 8!

Submit your own work to issue 8.

9 thoughts on “Interview – Thomas Locke

  1. Pingback: issue 8 artists | fēlan

  2. SORRY ABOUT MY SPELLING AND WRITING ERRORS.., NOT VERY GOOD, WITH KEYBOARDS,,, AND THIS IS A DEVOLPING, PROCESS, AND BODY OF WORK. KIND OF EXPERIMENTAL…. AND ABOUT THE ART OF SYRACUSE IN THE 1980S, I WAS RATHER YOUNG, OF AGE, AND JUST A OBSERVER, WHEN THE PAINTING THERE, WAS MAJOUR, AND IMPORTANT,,. IT WAS EXCITING, TO BE SEEING THE ART , AND OPENING UP MY MIND TO ART…… THANK YOU, FOR INCLUDING MY IMAGES IN YOUR ZINE…… PS,, THE PIECES, ARE ALL AT DIFFERNT STAGES OF DEVOLPMENT,, STEPING STONES, INA PROCESS, OF LEARNING.. EACH PEICE WAS BUILT ON THE PREVIOUS PIECE, AND IT WAS ALL IMPROVING…. SORT OF A COMMUNITY ART TYPE, ART?….. EXPERIENCE…… THANKS FOR LOOKING!,.,,, BEST WISHESS, TO ALL. IN THER CREATIVE, WORK…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: https://felanzine.wordpress.com/2016/11/09/interview-thomas-locke/comment-page-1/#comment-362 | mayasky observatory

  4. Pingback: Interview – Thomas Locke | mayasky observatory

  5. Pingback: Issue 8, the Envy Issue, is Now Available! | fēlan

Leave a Reply

