interviews

Interview – Elke Woll

ew

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

German by birth, South African by accident, translator by trade, teacher by circumstance.

When you create, what inspires you?

Anything, really. It can be word, a minor incident, …

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

I thought the idea “envy” intriguing. Having come across it in a “photographic blog” setting I thought of it in visual terms first but realized that all my visual ideas were contrite and rather soppy. So I did what I often do: I turned to humour. Of the corny variety.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

It always used to be language. I dabble in photography but this is really a casual hobby (even if it takes up a lot of my time lately).

How did you first discover your love for creating?

No idea. I used to write texts (any kind of text) from the time I could string letters together.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel envy?

Mostly the little things. Because I can shrug them off. I don’t bother with the big things because that would only make me miserable.

Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.

Creating is often a way to avoid the really big questions and problems in life. At least it is for me. Escapism, really.

picturesimperfectblog.wordpress.com
knicker@kabelbw.com

Check back November 18 to get your copy of issue 8!

Submit your own work to issue 8.

2 thoughts on “Interview – Elke Woll

  1. Pingback: issue 8 artists | fēlan

  2. Pingback: Issue 8, the Envy Issue, is Now Available! | fēlan

Leave a Reply

