interviews

Interview – Antwan J Thompson

 

ajt

When you create, what inspires you?

I loved Anne Sexton, and I love the fact she was honest. So it would make sense if I used my life story and my pain to match Sexton.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

The poem was based on me and about my life when I first met “the one” in a restaurant. I will never forget when I first met him and how we interacted with each other. When I first met him, I felt something like I knew he would be the one to change my life, which he did. He became my friend and I’m thankful but unfortunately I developed feeling for him and there was nothing I can do about it. He had a girlfriend and he’s straight so the poem was dedicated to him.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

I have been writing for so long since I was a child. It took me a while to master and understand it form and shape.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel envy?

I don’t feel envy because I don’t have the desire to want something from other. But on that day, I felt a moment of weakness. You know that feeling when you are at the bar, waiting to be noticed or relating to Glenn Close in “Fatal Attraction” and wanting to be loved and you met him but he was taken.

 

antwanjthompson@gmail.com

Check back November 18 to get your copy of issue 8!

Submit your own work to issue 8.

2 thoughts on “Interview – Antwan J Thompson

  1. Pingback: issue 8 artists | fēlan

  2. Pingback: Issue 8, the Envy Issue, is Now Available! | fēlan

Leave a Reply

