interviews

Interview – Tyler Lowery

tl

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

I’ve been writing poetry for a long time, close to two decades now actually. It had tapered off in the last few years, but I’ve recently found the inspiration to write again. Since I’ve gone to work at a bookstore, I’ve been a lot more active as a writer, and I feel like I’m starting to find my voice as a poet.

Aside from writing, I live in Oak Ridge with my wife of almost four years and our three dogs: Arwen, Calypso, and Yoda. And in other amazing news, we’re expecting our first child in March of next year.

When you create, what inspires you?

As stereotypical as it is, everything. I once wrote a poem about the bag floating around in American Beauty. The miracle of modern technology has given me the ability to write tiny poems or single lines that evolve into complete poems any time, any where. This lets me record the world and how I see it in real time, and that has given me a number of my favorite poems. Because of this, I have the luxury of allowing inspiration flow freely and rarely have to arrange a meeting.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

I ran into someone I knew in high school and they were quick to talk about the success in their life. They are younger than I am, and it bothered me. That only compounded when I truly thought about what I thought my life would be like and what it actually is.
I remember my parents telling me that I could do anything that I wanted to with my life, and that promise shaded a lffxot of my world view for the longest time. Seeing my life in a way contrary to that broke me a little bit.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

I don’t know if this is what you’re looking for exactly, but I love Google Drive. I keep almost 100% of my work there now. It’s on every one of my devices (My desktop, Chromebook, and Android), and it makes working on and organizing my work a lot easier.
That said, I did recently find an old Royalite typewriter at an antique shop for $20, and it’s proven to be a workhorse for me since I’ve got it. I’ve probably typed up over 50 poems on it since I got it in early October.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

I wrote my first poem when I was ten years old. It was about a mountain, and as you’d imagine, it was horrible. But my mom put it on the fridge and it stayed there for a couple of years. It felt good, seeing my writing there. When I was in high school, we had a little lit. mag, and I got published for the first time. This came as a surprise to a lot of people, and it gave me a small avenue to talk to a lot of people that wouldn’t normally have approached me. This was it for me. I was an outsider, a goth kid, and to have the ability to say things to these people was incredible. From then on out, I had a voice.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel envy?

Plenty of things. I can’t say I’m proud of them, but they’re still there. I’m envious of writers that produce regularly and those that are able to live by these means. I’m envious of the people either fortunate enough to afford their degrees or aren’t terrified of the crippling debt that comes with them, of those not afraid to jump into the world and dirty their hands by shaping it. But one day, I hope to join you.

Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.

I’m writing these responses on the day following the election, and already I can feel tension in the air. It’s palpable, and I just want to say that the only way out is through. If you’re feeling anxious or afraid, you’re not alone. If you’re joyful, spread your goodwill. This too shall pass, but only if we go at it united as one.

ty.lowery1@gmail.com


Check back November 18 to get your copy of issue 8!

Submit your own work to issue 8.

2 thoughts on “Interview – Tyler Lowery

  1. Pingback: issue 8 artists | fēlan

  2. Pingback: Issue 8, the Envy Issue, is Now Available! | fēlan

Leave a Reply

