interviews

Interview – Lindy Le Coq

llc

 

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

Lindy Low Le Coq

retired high school counselor
speaks her truth or holds her tongue
listens deeply to herself and others
seeks pathways to solutions
finds delight in creating
through visual arts and the written word

When you create, what inspires you?

The world around me is a continually changing collage of opportunities — gems
just waiting to be noticed. Nature is the primary inspiration for my photography, drawing
and poetry. With photography, I also look for unusual, sometimes absurd juxtapositions.

With prose, inspiration comes from two sources: a family tradition of campfire
story-telling, and being a life-long student and teacher of human behavior. Observing
how we interact with one another fascinates me. Since the age of fifteen, writing has
helped me understand myself relative to the world of the moment.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

Takeover! happened in a bay on Orcas Island, Washington USA. I was watching a piece
of driftwood carry a small community of gulls along on the tide. A strong cross-current
towed their little boat toward a buoy, where a statuesque Double-crested Cormorant
stood drying his feathers — unruffled by the approaching gulls. When the cormorant
started making aggressive displays, I noticed another cormorant was swimming directly
toward it. The invading cormorant changed course and made straight for the gulls. With
brash flaps and feet thrashing, the invader dispatched the gulls and claimed the floating
island to be its own.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

Writing keeps me sane!
Photography lets me capture a moment and play with it later.
Drawing and poetry are my soul food.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

Seems it’s always been part of me and fortunately encouraged by my parents and teachers.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel envy?

Rarely do I long for possessions or qualities I don’t have, but someone else does. That’s
not to say I’ve never felt envy — of course I have! When I was a flat-chested pre-teen, I
envied girls with swelling breasts. When in retail sales management, I resented being paid
less than men doing the same job. Over a lifetime, I’ve learned envy is ineffectual and will
eat you alive if you dwell in it. If I’m unable to acquire or achieve what I want or need
through my own decisions and actions, then I let it go.

Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.

Equally fascinating is the physical demeanor of both cormorants as the floating island
cormorant drifted past the cormorant on the buoy.

https://lindylecoq.wordpress.com/2016/03/20/cormorant-deference-dance-weekly-photo-challenge-dance/

lindy@pacifier.com

Get your copy of issue 8!

Submit your own work to issue 8.

Leave a Reply

