interviews

Interview – Lybra Ray Olbrantz

lro

Please tell us a bit about yourself.
I was born and raised in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. I won the 1st grade spelling bee! I graduated with a BA in Communications: Journalism in 2011. My last semester was spent abroad in London, UK. My favourite place in the world is Parque Lage in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. I have a tattoo of South America on my left palm. My favourite artist is Beatriz Milhazes. I love how the word ‘peculiar’ sounds in a British accent. I drink Yogi tea because I love the positive fortunes on each tea bag. My favourite thing to listen to when I drop into an art flow is the Nicolas Jaar BBC Essential Mix. I’m falling in love with a boy from Egypt :D
When you create, what inspires you?
Colours. Colours are the most inspirational thing for me. Sometimes visions come to be of images that I need to create, or I find posters or objects and know exactly what to do with them and just wait for all the elements and pieces to come together to create it exactly how I envision it in my mind. Travel inspires me a lot too because each place has it’s own vibe, it’s own energy. You can absorb this pretty quickly and it becomes a part of you. Then you release it in the creative process.
Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.
Ode to a Loaf was written while I was waiting for my toast to pop up from the toaster loll Literally I was standing there and the verses just flowed out. I was like, shit, I need a paper and pen so I can write this all down. It was funny once it was down because the scene about the ciabatta in tow was about how my little brother Christian Moody and I used to go dumpster diving for bread around town in Eugene, Oregon. We would literally bike from bakery to bakery. He knew all the hot spots, I just followed his lead. It’s nice imagery, I can still feel the warm summer night air grazing my skin as we coast down Willamette on our bikes.
What is your medium of choice? Why?
I love painting and instant photography the most. Painting is awesome because each colour conveys a different feeling and the paint is malleable, it’s moveable. It’s a medium that is playful and intellectual all in one. When it’s wet it’s something completely different than when it’s dry, sometimes a completely different emotion is conveyed after the piece is completely finished. Instant photography is just fun for me. You never know if an image is going to turn out as well as you hope, sometimes it’s better, sometimes it’s the random things you photograph that turn out the best, but it’s always about capturing this one moment instantaneously. I started handing them out to people in my travels and want to eventually start a project around it. I traveled to Egypt back in November and was taking a taxi back to my friends flat. There were these three kids that had their faces painted and they were sticking all their heads out the window and laughing and just joyful. I took a photo of them and when traffic stopped again I handed the photo to their mom and she was so grateful. The kids all came inside the car to watch the photo develop over their mom’s shoulder. This was a special moment for me because it was something small and magical for them.
How did you first discover your love for creating?
I’m not completely sure how I first discovered it. When I was little I used to love to draw and sing all the time. Then my dad bought me a journal for my 9th birthday and I got into writing. Then for my 16th birthday he bought me an acoustic guitar and I got into playing music. It’s in my blood though, no matter what I’m doing the creativity is always flowing.
fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel amusement?
Life! Life makes me feel the most amusement loll Everything in life is funny. I don’t like jokes, I don’t like situations where the expectation is to be amused and laugh. I looovvee the sporadic and random events that come about in life, they never cease to amaze and amuse me :D

voteorvote7@gmail.com

Check back January 20 to get your copy of issue 9!

Submit your work to issue 10.

2 thoughts on “Interview – Lybra Ray Olbrantz

  1. Pingback: issue 9 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

