interviews

Interview – M. Zane McClellan

mzm

Please tell us a bit about yourself.
I grew up in New York where I attended Adelphi University, was the first African-American to play lacrosse and serve as the Freshman Class President there, and studied Psychology before joining the Marine Corps.
In July of 2016 I initiated an international collaborative poem called, Poets for Peace. It was published as part of an event called for Poets of Change at Praxis Magazine, and subsequently archived at Stanford University. I am a contributing member of their core team at THE BeZINE.
I am working on my debut novel, a fantasy drawing of African mythology and folklore. My poetry has been published in Praxis Magazine for Arts & Literature, where two of them were also recent winners of a chapbook contest, and in THE BeZINE, where I have recently become a member of the core team of contributors.
When you create, what inspires you?
Mostly nature and human nature seen as part of that, but it can be anything and everything that I see or read. Any of the six senses can be the catalyst to writing so my daily reminder to myself is to pay attention.
Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.
Just a Moment was written for a National Poetry month prompt from Writer’s Digest. It came at a time when a blogger friend was being challenged by the health care system to properly care for her husband and I wanted to give her a little something to smile about.
What is your medium of choice? Why?
Poetry seems to be, but the long dormant artist in me is constantly looking for expression as well. One of the outlets I have found is creating preview videos for my books, and one for a book to which I was a contributing author.
How did you first discover your love for creating?
Being surrounded by Creatives from a very young age I emulated an older cousin who was a magnificent artist. Writing poetry when it got positive responses from my teachers and countered the Class Clown negative attention.
fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel amusement?
I am possessed with an odd and corny sense of humor, evident in having to explain what I am laughing at when I am the only one laughing on far too many occasions. Amusement is sometimes a response to tension and my attempt to relieve it in myself or others. Mostly amusement is simply an expression of my sense of joy in life.
Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.
I have two poetry books published, Poetry from a Wabi Sabi Heart and My Angel, My Muse, and am a contributing author on a third, Heart Whispers. All three can be found on Amazon. I created preview videos for all three.

mzanemcclellan@outlook.com
thepoetrychannel.wordpress.com

Check back January 20 to get your copy of issue 9!

Submit your work to issue 10.

8 thoughts on “Interview – M. Zane McClellan

  1. Reblogged this on The Poetry Channel and commented:
    My interview for the wonderful fēlan, a superb publication created by Jennifer Nichole Wells. This is a first rate publication of literature and arts. Print issues can be purchased in the magazine’s online store (link on the post). I am very grateful to Jennifer for the opportunity to be part of fēlan.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: issue 9 artists | fēlan

  3. Pingback: Interview – M. Zane McClellan | fēlan

Leave a Reply

