interviews

Interview – Marie Cheng

mariecheng_hearthome

Please tell us a bit about yourself.
I’m Marie Cheng, and I’m a comic artist/writer from Los Angeles, CA. I currently work in the animation industry and love storytelling through drawings and words.

When you create, what inspires you?
I’m inspired mostly by little moments in my personal life and childhood. I love monsters and creepy-cute creatures. Most of my artwork involves just enough morbid humor to make me chuckle without bursting into tears.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.
Heart Home – This was inspired by a chat I had with my friend Laura, where we were discussing how gross but oddly great humans can be. I think about how we are like little hearts trapped in a flesh prison, yet people’s hearts can drive their prisons to love, accomplish, and live the most amazing dreams.
Cat Comic – I honestly don’t know how this came about. I think I saw someone with cat shoes and thought it would be funny if those cats were alive. I realize that sentence makes me sound like a cat-killer. I’m not. I like cats. I promise.

What is your medium of choice? Why?
I really like a simple ink pen on sketchbook paper. I like the feeling of traditional materials, and I enjoy being able to see quickly the ways I could improve. There’s also something about ink lines that reminds me of classic comic strips, which I absolutely love!

How did you first discover your love for creating?
Growing up, I always loved drawing in my sketchbook, reading fantasy/adventure/mystery novels, and writing my own stories. I am the first in my family born in the U.S, so I felt a cultural rift wherever I went, but I found visual storytelling to be a universal language.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel amusement?
I love witty, honest, and morbid amusement. Some of my favorite cartoons are those that strongly reflect the political themes and social climate of their time. I think there is something wonderful about honesty in comedy, and just being able to acknowledge the absurdities in every day situations and laugh about it.

mariewcheng@gmail.com
mariewcheng.tumblr.com
instagram: mariewcheng

Get your copy of issue 9!

Submit your work to issue 10.

One thought on “Interview – Marie Cheng

  1. Pingback: issue 9 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

