interviews

Interview – Barry Johnson

barryjohnsonco_equalibrium

Please tell us a bit about yourself.
I’m a multi-disciplinary artist specializing in visual art, film, installations, and sculpture. I prefer to work across multiple mediums as it gives me the opportunity to live multiple lives. I begin working every day in at 3:00 in the morning and have been fortunate to have shown work across the U.S. and world. I also recently wrote and illustrated a children’s book called Oh What Wonderful Hair about hair positivity which is available on Amazon.
When you create, what inspires you?
Everything, I’ve learned over the years that if I make myself available to multiple opportunities and not attempt to control an outcome, it makes me more open to receiving insight and inspiration from any and everything. For instance, I was walking through wearing my headphones and saw people talking and being unable to understand what they were staying, I was moved to create a silent film. I once saw a group of birds gathered around some food while someone was off in the distance playing guitar and that led me to create a pop-up public art performance where a collection of people stood still while music was playing. This happens time and time again so long that I don’t try to control an outcome and let things just be as they’re supposed to be.
Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.
Insomnia happened very quickly. It was massive mural that was painted with no under-drawing over the course of four days. The idea behind it came from doodling with my daughter. She loves to use as much color as possible and always wants me to draw spiders, funny faces and monsters. I decided to use this same style to create a mural.
What is your medium of choice? Why?
Anything, I love working across multiple mediums as it forces me to come up with new and interesting ways to use different materials. One thing I constantly keep in mind when creating pieces is to use environmental safe material if it’s going to be placed outside.
How did you first discover your love for creating?
Through play, I’ve always been a hands-on tinkerer. It’s followed me all throughout my life and at one point it made sense to dive head first and do it full-time.
fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel amusement?
When asked about who I am and what I do, I constantly tell people that I’m a big kid playing. I’m 32, but still watch cartoons routinely, draw crude pictures, laugh at silly things, and at any moment during the day I could break-out into a dance our start laughing thinking about nonsense in my head. Laughter and playing is everything to me. Especially being a parent, I’m constantly in play with my daughter and wife.
Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.
Feel free to connect with me at barryjohnson.co or info@barryjohnson.co. As a gift, each person that signs up for my newsletter I’ll send a free piece of art. Just signup and I’ll send you a piece.

barryjohnson.co
206-790-1568
info@barryjohnson.co

Get your copy of issue 9!

Submit your work to issue 10.

2 thoughts on “Interview – Barry Johnson

  1. Pingback: issue 9 artists | fēlan

  2. Pingback: Checking in with Barry Johnson | fēlan

Leave a Reply

