interviews

Interview – Dario Ré

04_sharing_a_tart_from_diane_borsato_with_thamnophis_sirtalis_sirtalis

Please tell us a bit about yourself.
My practice includes painting, assemblage, installation, video, performance, sound and songwriting and I live in Spokane, Washington.

When you create, what inspires you?
I’m inspired by subtly…the act of drawing out the unseen in our everyday, be it a social dynamic, a natural phenomena, the relationship to one’s environment, etc.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.
I wrote a Master’s thesis in Art History that examined mushrooms in contemporary art and considered the ecological, social and aesthetic implications embedded in interkingdom relationships. During my research, I became highly inspired by Toronto-based artist, Diane Borsato whose work ranges from relational mushroom forays, to discreet performances with the inanimate. I was fortunate enough to work with her and during our first meeting at Guelph University she gifted me a fruit tart. I thus embarked on my own discreet interkingdom performance savoring each bite of tart with the sequential nature dwellers I encountered in the arboretum, sharing the moments with reciprocity. The tart became a catalyst for an equalizing exchange between the participating kingdoms: Animalia, Plante and Fungi and an homage to the working process of Borsato.

What is your medium of choice? Why?
Sound. I love the way it encourages (sometimes forcefully) a complete immersion in the work.

How did you first discover your love for creating?
The word ‘discover’ doesn’t resonate with me in terms of my love for creating. I’ve always loved to create. However, I became more conscious of the artistic pursuit as way of being in the world through my postsecondary education.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel amusement?
I can and do feel amused in nearly any circumstance based on an alignment of timing and emotional vulnerability but I can’t say there is anything that is inherently amusing. Although, I do love being surprised by the natural world; that can get me pretty riled up!

dariore555@gmail.com
dariore.com

Get your copy of issue 9!

Submit your work to issue 10.

One thought on “Interview – Dario Ré

  1. Pingback: issue 9 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

