interviews

Interview – Theresa Henson

th

Please tell us a bit about yourself.
I live in North Central Idaho and work for the Benedictine sisters of the Monastery of St. Gertrude, in communications and arts programming. I love the outdoors, the quiet, and the big light. I received a B.A. in English and Art Studio from University of California at Santa Barbara and an M.A. in Transforming Spirituality from Seattle University. I am accompanied by a wolf dog and a cat that looks like a lynx. Learn more at www.theresahenson.net.

When you create, what inspires you?
A place to process, understand, and be grateful. The start to the creative thread can be found anywhere — it all depends on how present I am to seeing it.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.
I wrote this poem when I was in a lot of transition — and in an intentional space of leaving old dynamics behind. I find that when I focus on the simple way forward I am less fearful and anxious by all the moving parts about me.

What is your medium of choice? Why?
Good question! I have loved being a sculptor and pianist but right now, I am most eager to get to my writing. It’s really always been the first thing to me and I haven’t spent nearly enough time at it.

How did you first discover your love for creating?
I loved my 8th grade teacher, Mrs. Gursky, who opened up an incredible, delightful world of writing for me. In college I started to take art classes, play piano again, go to arts events, and learn learn learn about creatives throughout time. It was a beautiful and incredible time of opening, my soul falling in love with these passionate, brave ways of responding to life.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel amusement?
My friends. They are very funny.

theresa.henson@gmail.com

Get your copy of issue 9!

Submit your work to issue 10.

One thought on “Interview – Theresa Henson

  1. Pingback: issue 9 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

