interviews

Interview – Irena Azovsky

azovsky4

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

I currently live in Los Angeles, CA, after moving to the West Coast from Brooklyn, NY. I was originally born in Moscow, Russia and previously resided in Tel Aviv, Israel before moving to the states at the age of 9. I attended Maryland Institute Collage of Art, where I received a BFA in General Fine Arts with a concentration in Book Arts. I use collage as my medium to create multidimensional interwoven pieces that bring forth my fondness of 80’s culture and imagery. The collages typically work together as a series, creating a hypnotic pattern of meticulously dissected images with contrasting colors. My work has been previously shown in galleries in Brooklyn, NY, Baltimore, MD, Atlanta, GA and Los Angeles, CA.

When you create, what inspires you?

I’m very inspired by 80’s culture and imagery. I personally love 80’s music, movies, fashions and it never gets old for me. A lot of my color palette is directly inspired by my interpretation of an 80’s color palette. I have also always been a fan of constructivist art, as it utilizes collage in a design oriented way. My interests include spirituality and meditation and I find the patterns that I create within my works can be a meditative process for myself at times, as a lot of repetition and attention to detail is involved.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

The piece with the words “WILL MAKE ART” was my response to the recent election in the United States. I feel that one of the most important proactive things that we can do is to continue creating beautiful artwork and to contribute positivity to our society. This piece was stating my commitment of continuing to create work that I hope is inspirational to others and encourages everyone to nurture their creativity and to tap into that source of brilliance, despite any potential discouragements and hardships that are currently being projected in the realm of politics.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

I fell in love with the challenges of collage making and the many different things that you can do to make visual material that already exists (such as images from books and magazines) aesthetically interesting, other than just the direct method of “cut and paste”. To be good at collage, I feel like you have to become good friends with your exact-o knife because it involves a lot of tedious work and a ton of meticulous cutting. Let’s just say that I am BFFs with mine and we go way back!

How did you first discover your love for creating?

As a kid, I was very creative. I was always working with arts and crafts materials (pom poms, pipe cleaners, popsicle sticks, etc.) to create visually interesting “art objects”. I enjoyed drawing, jewelry making and dabbled a little in sewing. In high school, I got more serious about pursuing art and joined the art program that was offered. I have always made collages, it initially started in high school when I created smaller collages in my mixed media books (books where I pasted drawings and collages over the actual pages, creating a personalized sketchbook). However, the collage series developed profusely during my last year of college for my thesis project. I just kept making one after another and then before I knew it, I had a solid group of various visually stimulating collages that were similar in nature. Throughout the years, I continued pushing myself to see how many variables I can create in the same square format and I realized that the possibilities are endless and I can just keep going forever.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel amusement?

I find collage very amusing. The process, for example, allows you to make anything from something that already exists. This give you a step up when it comes to brainstorming ideas, as drawing and painting typically has to start from scratch. Amusement can also be found in trying new things and exploring different results. My collages are encased in acetate sleeves, which allows me to be more lenient with what I actually glue/stick onto the collage and what pieces can be non-static. For this purpose, I like to put glitter in some of my collages to give them that dreamy and playful feel. In other collage, there may be little cut out shapes that move around if you tilt the piece because they are free to take on a life of their own within the collage structure.

irenaazovsky@gmail.com
parallelattractions.com
instagram: parallelattractions

Get your copy of issue 9!

Submit your work to issue 10.

One thought on “Interview – Irena Azovsky

  1. Pingback: issue 9 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

