interviews

Interview – Sophia Grancharova

amuse-bouche1

Please tell us a bit about yourself.
Young bulgarian artist. Educated in France, eager to travel the world.

When you create, what inspires you?
I’m inspired by what I see and what I am surrounded by. I’m inspired by human bodies, by their movement, by fashion, by printed images and advertisement. I get inspired a lot when
looking at other people’s creations. So, while I’m working on a piece, I try to keep in mind the things that I’ve seen and that have inspired me.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.
The piece “Amuse bouche” is one of the first images out of a project I have started. The project is called “UJS” and is an abbreviation from the bulgarian word “ужас” which means
horror. The name is inspired from the names of some tabloid newspapers that are extremely popular here, such as “Shock” newspaper. I’m impressed by the poor quality of the images
inside, by the false and cheap information written and also by the fact that such printed issues are so popular and that there are so many people who consume them. “UJS” is a
limited edition newspaper, recycling images from other tabloid newspapers. And, of course, with a lot of irony and sometimes it goes up to grotesque.

What is your medium of choice? Why?
My medium is a found image, scanned, cropped, a re-worked ready-made. This is medium that came naturally to me and has became my most preferred one. It is supposed to be
printed.

How did you first discover your love for creating?
It’s like I’ve always knew it, it has never been a real question to create or not. I become nervous when there has been a longer time that I haven’t created anything. Right now, I’m
doing a job where I don’t create anything and its a challenge.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel amusement?
I’m amused by the things I understand or, at least, I think I understand.

sophiagr.com

sophiagrancharova@gmail.com

instragram: sophiag.r


Get your copy of issue 9!

Submit your work to issue 10.

One thought on “Interview – Sophia Grancharova

  1. Pingback: issue 9 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

