interviews

Interview – Halima Abdul-Jaleel

brilliant-minds

When you create, what inspires you?
I am inspired by life so my topics ranging self- empowerment to racial disparity to conservation. I use my art as platform to bring awareness to negative and positive aspects of life

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.
“Brilliant Mind,” was inspired by the amazing qualities that our brain holds. It’s amusing to me that we as humans only use a fraction of this amazing knowledge compartment we call our brain. Even when we think we’re not thinking, like when we are sleeping, our brains are constantly restructuring and storing information.

What is your medium of choice? Why?
My medium of choice is acrylic paints because they are versatile. I enjoy how fast acrylic paint dries fast, how it can be thinned out similar to water color or layered to add texture and mostly adhere to any surface.

How did you first discover your love for creating?
I first discovered my love for creating as a child while making paper dolls with my mom. I took my time and tried to create my own style with each doll that I crafted. Looking back this experience gave me the insight to really appreciate the process of creating a piece of art. In many of my works the process that I go through has a symbolic significance that is comparable to the final product.

Fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel amusement?
I have an eclectic taste when it comes to amusement. I feel amusement by British humor; comedic acts, art, nature shows and real life coincidences can be quite amusing.

purpledesigner13@gmail.com
386-320-3039
instagram: creativedesignsbyhalima

facebook: creativedesignsbyhalima


Get your copy of issue 9!

Submit your work to issue 10.

2 thoughts on “Interview – Halima Abdul-Jaleel

  1. Pingback: issue 9 artists | fēlan

  2. Pingback: Interview – Halima Abdul-Jaleel | fēlan

Leave a Reply

