interviews

Interview – Stephane Salvi

charlie-2

Please tell us a bit about yourself.
My name is Stephane Salvi, i’m a self taught musician and painter, i live in france.

When you create, what inspires you?
I think i’m mainly inspired by others painters work and any kind of images i see.
Books and conversations with friends are also sources of inspirations
When i create i don’t think too much, i try to get stuff from my subconscious to have a primitive kind of expressionism.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.
Charlie is a dog i had when i was a kid and Step Sniffer is a quick painting of a stairs shaped profile, don’t know where the idea comes from.

What is your medium of choice? Why?
I paint at home with gouache or acrylic on paper, it’s not too smelly and i can work fast with it. Sometimes i add collage to my paintings.

How did you first discover your love for creating?
I draw since i was a child, i love that as far as i can remember.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel amusement?
Art is amusement to me. Even if it express pain or tragedy, it entertains me

Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.
I made a living with music but i’ve been showing my art work only recently, so i’m really very happy to be published here! Thank you.

stephane.salvi@orange.fr


Get your copy of issue 9!

Submit your work to issue 10.

One thought on “Interview – Stephane Salvi

  1. Pingback: issue 9 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

