interviews

Interview – M. Zane McClellan

Check out M. Zane McClellan’s first interview with us here.

Any new items in your life since or projects you’ve been working on since your first interview?

I recently decided to put my blog on hold indefinitely. The Poetry Channel has been a wonderful way to grow as a poet, and interact with other wonderful poets, but is time consuming. I decided that the best use of my time as a writer is to focus on my novels. I have a few that I am excited about and want to finish and circulate among publishers and agents.

Tell us a bit about your working process.

Writing poetry is something that has always come easier to me than fiction. I find inspiration everywhere I look, listen, and feel. Paying attention leads to titles, opening lines, or stanzas that then flow into verse. After I finish a poem I review it for rhythm and examine my word choices to make sure the imagery is as evocative as I can make it.
My fiction is a bit more laborious in that my ideas lead to a lot of reserach because although I write fantasy, I am a stickler for plausability. So, for example, my work in progress, “The Reincarnation of Martin Luther King Jr.” has resulted in a great deal of reading on reincarnation.

What artists/writers do you admire?

Mary McGarry Morris , Terry Brooks, Margaret Atwood, Ray Bradbury, for fiction, and too many more to list. Poets I admire most are Dylan Thomas, Gil Scott Heron, Poe, Gibran, Maya Angelou, and Ellen Bass. I could go on here as there are no end of amazingly gifted Poets to read. I am also a big fan of several Poets found on WordPress blogs like Robert Okaji from the great blog, O at the Edges, Neha Parmar-Dasgupti, from Forgottenmeadows, Paul Lenzi from Poesy plus Polemics, Kim from Peace, Love, and Patchouli. Again, I could go on as all of them have inspired and taught me so much about poetry.

Why create?

When we create we add so much to the world, beauty and texture. As a writer I like to think I paint with words. Writing and Art are ways of expressing emotions for which some have no words. We feed hungry souls with our empathy. I feel that that is what life is really all about and it is certainly what I feel called to do.

Do you prefer writing/creating art about ‘anger’ more than other emotions? Why or why not?

My inclination is to explore the many layers of our journey in life through the lens of love as expressed in our empathy and compassion. To encourage people to allow themselves to feel all that there is to be to felt, relish it as part of the whole.

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve been given?

To remain teachable throughout your life, and open to all of its possibilities.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel anger?

I am intolerant of intolerance, and it makes me angry that people will mobilize when they see animals in distress, but turn a blind eye to a fellow human being.

mzanemcclellan@outlook.com


Check back Mar. 24 to get your copy of issue 10!

Submit your work to issue 11.

Leave a Reply

