interviews

Interview – Greta Radzeviciute

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

My name is Greta Ra, I am a Lithuanian artist currently living, studying and creating in the Netherlands. I am fascinated by the color blue, chocolate and very bad humour.

When you create, what inspires you?

Simplicity and abstraction. The ability to say the most with the least has been somewhat of a goal for me. I find myself liking works of artists which very minimal output on the paper sending the strongest messages or bringing up the strongest of emotions. Everyday life sometimes works the same way too, the smallest of things on a mundane day can be the greatest inspiration of all.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind your accepted piece.

Although recently times have not been the easiest all around the world I did not want to create an overly angry or political work. Instead I looked back at myself and wondered how I deal with stress or anger. And to my surprise I found myself taking naps at times which are the worst. Anger is definitely counterproductive and exhausting so it is a lot better to do something more relaxing instead!

What is your medium of choice? Why?

It is a digital drawing printed with a risographh printer. I have been very curious about riso printing lately, I am charmed how a machine can make very lovely one of a kind prints with a nice analog touch.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

I have been interested in it for as long as I can remember but perhaps an interest became a bit more than that in my teens when I used it as a form of rebellion to fight against what people expected of me and what they expected me to be. The older I became the more I noticed that expressing myself physically was not an easy task to do so I turned to more creative ways instead.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel anger?

Injustice.

ragreta@gmail.com

tiniblu.tumblr.com


Check back Mar. 24 to get your copy of issue 10!

Submit your work to issue 11.

One thought on “Interview – Greta Radzeviciute

  1. Pingback: issue 10 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

