interviews

Interview – Jenni Bee

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

I was born in Italy to Russian immigrants and grew up in Germany. There I studied graphic design and then traveled the world a bit. Eleven years ago I settled in Vermont.

When you create, what inspires you?

Ideas to draw and paint usually present themselves to me, like waking up from a dream with the idea for a painting. Unless I dwell on a certain emotion, then sometimes an idea slowly will take shape. I find looking at other artists work very inspirational as well.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind your accepted piece.

I was angry, but while I was drawing the emotion shrank into the background, or like when you have an out of body experience. The process of drawing took my anger out of the body and I had the opportunity to look at it from a calm perspective.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

I love drawing with pencil and painting in ink and acrylic. These mediums are very versatile and leave a lot of room for experimentation.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

I drew since I can think.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel anger?

Injustice and cruelty make me angry.

 

jennibeeart@gmail.com
facebook.com/JenniBeeArt


Check back Mar. 24 to get your copy of issue 10!

Submit your work to issue 11.

3 thoughts on “Interview – Jenni Bee

  1. Pingback: issue 10 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

