interviews

Interview – Jasmine Smoot

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

My name is Jasmine Smoot and I am a photographer, musician, filmmaker and artist. I currently work as a CAD Tech at a surveying & mapping business in Dallas, TX, but I plan on becoming a full-time family photographer in the future.

When you create, what inspires you?

My anxiety, my emotions, and my experiences. I tend to draw inspiration from very specific situations and emotions in hopes of expressing them.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind your accepted piece.

The piece I submitted was inspired by an old friend’s breakup. He abused her, cheated on her, gave her an STD, and even lied to her about having a child. Yet, she was still head over heels in love with him and could never bring herself to talk bad about him. I wrote the poem from the perspective of her; finally becoming aware of how abusive and manipulating he was towards her – and I imagined it was pure hatred.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

Music. I am a very wordy person, and it’s very difficult for me to be ‘wordy’ in art or photographs or film. Music, however, is very literal and I can be as wordy as I want.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

I was 8 years old when I started playing guitar. My dad taught me how to play, and he taught me how to read and write music, too – so pretty soon I was writing songs left and right. Then, at 11 years old, I was heavily inspired by the TV show iCarly and decided to make my own web series with my neighbor. It was never successful, but I gained the knowledge of editing and appreciation for film.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel anger?

Ignorant, uninformed people. Since the election, I have been seeing more ignorance than ever before and it infuriates me. I cannot fathom my hatred for the amount of people who walk around, spewing their ignorant lies to the public. It makes me furious.

Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.

I want people to know that I want to be remembered. I want to leave my mark on this world. I want to be unforgettable – I think we all do.

jasminersmoot@gmail.com
jasminersmoot.wixsite.com/jasminesmoot
instagram: @archiesfinalproject


Get your copy of issue 10!

Submit your work to issue 11.

One thought on “Interview – Jasmine Smoot

  1. Pingback: issue 10 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

