interviews

Interview – Edilson Afonso Ferreira

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m a retired Bank employee, 73 years old, 38 years married to my wife, three sons and a granddaughter living with us. I’m a Brazilian poet who writes in English rather than in Portuguese, counting 128 poems published in diverse Literary Venues of English Language, beginning my writing career on my retirement, seven years ago. I live in a small town, Formiga, Minas Gerais State, Brazil.

When you create, what inspires you?

My inner feelings, from the depths of my soul, so rarely I respond to prompts.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted piece.

On “Politics And Borders” I deal with the lack of friendship, solidarity, yet love which would be foundation of mankind, not shared until today by the rulers of our countries.

On “Confessional” I dream with the desire that it would be of all of us, that of never be lost the power and the faith of our youth, which must guide our life until the last of our days.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

My brain, where I compose entirely my poems, and, after, my computer, where I save them. This, I think, helps me stay away from Alzheimer’s.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

In Elementary School, 14 years old, my Portuguese teacher, a Catholic priest, had praised my essay and said I had talent for writer. This was a starting point.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel anger?

My hope in better days for humanity and the lack of people’s tendency for it.

Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.

I have a poem on Christ’s anger, titled “The Christ I love more” (Mathew, 21-12); feel free to read it at my site www.edilsonmeloferreira.com.

edilsonmeloferreira@gmail.com
edilsonmeloferreira.com


Get your copy of issue 10!

Submit your work to issue 11.

One thought on “Interview – Edilson Afonso Ferreira

  1. Pingback: issue 10 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

