interviews

Interview – Beryl Brenner

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

I am a Brooklyn artist and the area is a very arts friendly community so I feel blessed. I have a BA in fine arts, an MA in art ed and am halfway through a doctorate in the field. I show my work in NYC as well as all over the country and belong to several artists organizations.

When you create, what inspires you?

Actually I tend to go back and forth. Sometimes I fixate on the external and sometimes I fixate on my internal issues. In any event there is always a relationship between the 2.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

olive glass. It can be soft when hot and hard when cold. It can be opaque or translucent. It demands our attention. I also combine it with other media at times.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel anger?

Anger is very complex and difficult for most people. They either go crazy and demean others or they stuff their feelings and sit and stew. The best way to deal with it is to talk it out in a calm manner but this takes courage. Ironically, it usually works best. When it doesn’t the frustration continues.

berylbrenner.com


Get your copy of issue 10!

Submit your work to issue 11.

One thought on “Interview – Beryl Brenner

  1. Pingback: issue 10 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

