interviews

Interview – Nikki Marrone

Snakebite by Nikki Marrone with a portion of Discoloration by Ashba Zulfiqar

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

My name is Nikki and I currently live in Cambridge. I am an avid traveler who is eager to explore the world.

When you create, what inspires you?

I find that I write poems when I have something I’m trying to figure out. When there’s something that I’m having a hard time understanding, or I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around or coming to terms with, that is when I feel moved to sit down and write a poem. This can be a personal problem or a bigger world problem. On the other hand, I find what inspires me most is the world around me.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted piece.

“Snakebite” was born from the frustration of carrying years of anger surrounding a situation that couldn’t be changed and knowing that should I continue to carry that with me- it would poison me. “Holding on to anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one who gets burned.” – Buddha

What is your medium of choice? Why?

In the last few years I have discovered spoken word poetry and I find that medium of creativity fascinating. I love the idea that some poems are too much for the page and need to be expressed with the emotion and passion behind them. Hearing someone perform their poem aloud really adds a different dimension to the piece.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

I’ve always loved telling stories from a young age and found early on that I had a vivid and overactive imagination. I used to draw comic strips and then moved onto poems.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel anger?

Injustice, oppression and rudeness.

sparkthewords@gmail.com
sparkthewords.com


Get your copy of issue 10!

Submit your work to issue 11.

Leave a Reply

