interviews

Interview – Dan Fraser

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

Born in Victoria, British Columbia, I have travelled to many countries, lived away from Canada for several years, hitchhiked to Peru carrying my typewriter and a briefcase full of poetry books.

Father of three children, third generation carpenter, now retired. For decades ran long distance, mostly on single track trails in forests and mountains.

When you create, what inspires you?

I’m inspired by a phrase or image that comes, often during the night. I get up to write no matter what the hour, to honour the gift. Sometimes an entire poem comes, or only a partial one. I have learned the importance of putting down what comes while it is fresh.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted piece.

Dangerous thoughts came to me while leaving the grocery store. The poem arrived nearly complete and I thought I have to get that down quickly before it goes. My cell phone is always with me and all my poems are first written on the phone, so I sat in my truck and wrote the entire poem on the spot.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

Poetry is my primary medium because I love words.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

In high school, I wrote sonnets and haikus. Later, my best friend introduced me to Bob Dylan and the beauty and power of words.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel anger?

Anger has been a prominent element in my life from childhood. My father had explosions of anger that were always to be feared.

I have a well of anger within me. There are a number of triggers that can touch off this anger. I try to be aware of these triggers and catch them as they arise to defuse the anger.

daninmaya.wordpress.com


Get your copy of issue 10!

Submit your work to issue 11.

One thought on “Interview – Dan Fraser

  1. Pingback: issue 10 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

