interviews

Interview – Halima Abdul-Jaleel

Read Halima’s first interview with us here.

Tell us a bit about your working process.

I am currently in the process of researching quilt making in the African American and Native American cultures. In addition, to this research I am also gathering research of my mother’s familial heritage. At the moment we have bits and pieces of information but I want to bring our history to light through the genre of quilt making and painting. I want my family to have a tangible representation of our heritage while also highlighting a major tool the encompassed the freedom of many slaves.

What artists/writers do you admire?

My all-time most favorite writer is Maya Angelou and I have many artist whom I respect and whose work I enjoy viewing

Why create?

It’s human nature to create, transform and renew. If you’re not creating you are not fulfilling your true nature.

Do you prefer writing/creating art about ‘anger’ more than ‘amusement?’ Why or why not?

I enjoy dealing with any topic that conveys ideas about the emotional side of being human.

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve been given?

Stay true to your ideals, background and your art

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel anger?

I get angry when I see people in power misuse their power

Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.

Some people try to deny being angry but anger is a part of our makeup. We just have learn how to use our anger to push us to become better human beings.

purpledesigner13@gmail.com
386-320-3039
instagram/facebook: @creativedesignsbyhalima


Get your copy of issue 10!

Submit your work to issue 11.

One thought on “Interview – Halima Abdul-Jaleel

  1. Pingback: issue 10 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

