interviews

Interview – Ashba Zulfiqar

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

I am an aspiring watercolor artist residing in Seattle, WA. Originally born in Lahore Pakistan in 1991, with a household filled with artistic and creative people, I was exposed to drawing at an early age. My inspiration comes from my own experiences as well as the common emotions that link all humans, thus making my goal to create artwork that is not only a glimpse into my personal life, but also something the viewer can connect with to their own.

When you create, what inspires you?

My artistic process usually begins from a single emotion or a figure of speech I am inspired by or have the urge to express. I use a strong and vibrant color palette along with symbolic images to portray abstract concepts and their meaning into a personal visual representation.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted piece.

I gained my inspiration from the colors I was currently enjoying working with which were dark reds ands crimsons. This led me to do a painting that could use that palette in its’ most expressive way. Making a piece that reflected how the color itself would feel like or what it could help provoke in the subject.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

My medium of choice is watercolors, which I use in both a tight detailed manner and in a much looser method. Both styles used in a single composition create a focus and leave areas for the organic nature of the medium to express its own beauty. Along with my watercolor pieces, my sketchbook illustrations have a wider array of mediums including watercolors, ink, pen, markers and pencil.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

My true dedication to creating art began at the end of my high school education where I had taken every advantage of involving myself in the art classes and projects offered. After mastering my technical skills, I began to explore ideas regarding surreal concepts and started creating pieces with little to no reference and more from my imagination.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel anger?

Injustice and ignorance.

ashbazulfiqar@gmail.com
ashbazulfiqar.com
etsy.com/shop/ashbazulfiqar


Get your copy of issue 10!

Submit your work to issue 11.

One thought on “Interview – Ashba Zulfiqar

  1. Pingback: issue 10 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

